Wild Rice Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I cut this in half for two of us, and used half wild rice and half brown rice, subbed in slivered almonds for the water chestnuts (don't like w.c.'s), and left out the mushrooms (didn't have any) and salt (salt in butter and in low-sodium broth). This was delicious, though a little over the top on the butter; would cut that in 1/2 next time. I cooked the rices in the broth on the stovetop for 45 minutes, then transferred it to a small covered baking dish, with the rest of the ingredients I used, and baked for another 30 minutes. Probably could have used another 15 minutes on the wild rice. We enjoyed it though; it was a very nice accompaniment to the Grilled Pork Chops with Balsamic Carmelized Onions, and Pan Fried Asparagus we had tonight. Thank you, Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
I had to cook this dish a lot longer than anticipated. I doubled the bake time ad still added a few more minutes. It was a good side dish, but nothing special- except to us wild rice lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
My family loved this recipe. However, you need to reduce the chicken broth to 2 cups NOT 2 cans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Just tried this for the first time. I enjoyed the wild rice/mushroom/water chestnut combo, but it lacked a little flavor in my book. As with the other reviews, I found it took much longer to cook and 29 oz. of chicken stock was too much. I'd cut that back to at least 24 oz. I will also cut back on the butter next time and substitute in some Z-Trim which I shoud have done this time reading the one review. What I did when all was said and done and I wanted more flavor was sprinkle on some parmesan cheese. That made it really tasty, I thought. I'll bake some in next time and make the other adjustments mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This was good, but took a lot longer, than it says to cook. Good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
So easy and so delish! Didn't change a thing. Doubled really easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMOM2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I used the ingredients listed but changed the cooking routine cuz of time constraints. I cooked the wild rice (40 minutes) in chicken broth with butter and salt one afternoon. The next day, in a deep 12" fry pan, I sauteed the onion, mushrooms and water chestnuts in butter until soft, stirred in the cooked rice and heated through. I then put it in a casserole dish, into a 375 degree F oven for 30 minutes. I needed to add a bit more liquid at this point. This was a BIG hit at the potluck dinner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Based on the other reviews, I put in 29 oz of chicken broth, but added extra 1/4 cup of rice. I used Pecans instead of water chestnuts and No mushrooms, only carmelized onions. I baked for 1 1/2 hours in total. My family really liked it and they are very picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I was looking for a way to use leftover already cooked wild rice when I found this recipe. I sauted the onions & mushrooms (portabello) and then added the wild rice (cooked with veg. broth) & water chestnuts and heated through. So my method was stovetop from start to finish...very quick & easy since the rice was cooked. I really liked this dish and will definitely make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This is a good recipe, however, the cooking times are based on real wild rice (harvested in lakes). Commercially grown, or paddy wild rice, takes more than twice as long to cook. Wild rice is varying shades of dull grey/brown. Commercial wild rice is nearly black & shiny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States