Wild Rice Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Easy to make, and yes be patient for the cooking time. I didn't have the water chestnuts but next time I will def. add them as I am sure they taste wonderful in this. I finely chopped my MR's as I have someone in house who doesn't like MR's but didn't know they were in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I cut this in half for two of us, and used half wild rice and half brown rice, subbed in slivered almonds for the water chestnuts (don't like w.c.'s), and left out the mushrooms (didn't have any) and salt (salt in butter and in low-sodium broth). This was delicious, though a little over the top on the butter; would cut that in 1/2 next time. I cooked the rices in the broth on the stovetop for 45 minutes, then transferred it to a small covered baking dish, with the rest of the ingredients I used, and baked for another 30 minutes. Probably could have used another 15 minutes on the wild rice. We enjoyed it though; it was a very nice accompaniment to the Grilled Pork Chops with Balsamic Carmelized Onions, and Pan Fried Asparagus we had tonight. Thank you, Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Very good-buttery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I really really liked this. Wonderful buttery flavor. I chopped my water chestnuts (liked that addition) and used just over 2 C broth. Make sure you caramalize your onions because that is where so much of the flavor comes from. I had no issues with this not cooking in the 60 min. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
It took the full 90 minutes to cook, but this recipe was totally worth it. Great taste, I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I have made this several times, and the only thing I do a bit differently is use a butter spread (like Smart Balance Lite) instead of honest-to-goodness butter. It's always a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I used this recipe as a base for what I made. I cooked on the stovetop and not in the oven. I also used boxed mix wild rice that had some seasonings added. I liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I did alter it and make it into a dinner. Substitute DRIED PORCHINI MUSHROOMS and simmer them in the broth (2 Cups) at the beginning while sautéing the onion. Mix all ingredients at the beginning. Bake 45 minutes. Top with BONELESS CHICKEN BREASTS. Cover and Bake 45 minutes more. Option: Sprinkle with SHREDDED PARMESAN and Brown at the end. Let stand covered 15 minutes before serving. We aren't wild rice connoisseurs but we used LUNDBERG WILD BLEND which is very rich. I think the button mushrooms would have been overwhelmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
So easy and so delish! Didn't change a thing. Doubled really easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMOM2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Doubled the recipe but not the butter and salt. Used the butter in the oven dish, but sautéed onions and mushrooms in olive oil. Timing for me was exactly as stated. 30 min before the veggies are added and 30 min after. Served with a turkey breast. Skipped the chestnuts since I didn't have them. Used Lundberg Wild Rice Blend. Everyone loved it. Never had made rice in the oven before. Was great to be able to just stick it in there for the last hour turkey was baking. Was ready before turkey but was fine sitting out covered for a while. Easy, moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States