Wild Rice Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
So easy and so delish! Didn't change a thing. Doubled really easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMOM2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I cut this in half for two of us, and used half wild rice and half brown rice, subbed in slivered almonds for the water chestnuts (don't like w.c.'s), and left out the mushrooms (didn't have any) and salt (salt in butter and in low-sodium broth). This was delicious, though a little over the top on the butter; would cut that in 1/2 next time. I cooked the rices in the broth on the stovetop for 45 minutes, then transferred it to a small covered baking dish, with the rest of the ingredients I used, and baked for another 30 minutes. Probably could have used another 15 minutes on the wild rice. We enjoyed it though; it was a very nice accompaniment to the Grilled Pork Chops with Balsamic Carmelized Onions, and Pan Fried Asparagus we had tonight. Thank you, Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Very good-buttery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I really really liked this. Wonderful buttery flavor. I chopped my water chestnuts (liked that addition) and used just over 2 C broth. Make sure you caramalize your onions because that is where so much of the flavor comes from. I had no issues with this not cooking in the 60 min. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
It took the full 90 minutes to cook, but this recipe was totally worth it. Great taste, I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I have made this several times, and the only thing I do a bit differently is use a butter spread (like Smart Balance Lite) instead of honest-to-goodness butter. It's always a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I leave out the mushrooms and butter and add chicken breasts. Usually I cook 3-4 breasts in water, when done dump wild rice in (or long grain and wild rice), salt and pepper. Depending on how much broth you have, this can be a great soup or casserole. I chop scallions and sprinkle on top before serving. I also steam broccoli florets and mix with the leftovers...yummy and nourishing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I used this recipe as a base for what I made. I cooked on the stovetop and not in the oven. I also used boxed mix wild rice that had some seasonings added. I liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I did alter it and make it into a dinner. Substitute DRIED PORCHINI MUSHROOMS and simmer them in the broth (2 Cups) at the beginning while sautéing the onion. Mix all ingredients at the beginning. Bake 45 minutes. Top with BONELESS CHICKEN BREASTS. Cover and Bake 45 minutes more. Option: Sprinkle with SHREDDED PARMESAN and Brown at the end. Let stand covered 15 minutes before serving. We aren't wild rice connoisseurs but we used LUNDBERG WILD BLEND which is very rich. I think the button mushrooms would have been overwhelmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Doubled the recipe but not the butter and salt. Used the butter in the oven dish, but sautéed onions and mushrooms in olive oil. Timing for me was exactly as stated. 30 min before the veggies are added and 30 min after. Served with a turkey breast. Skipped the chestnuts since I didn't have them. Used Lundberg Wild Rice Blend. Everyone loved it. Never had made rice in the oven before. Was great to be able to just stick it in there for the last hour turkey was baking. Was ready before turkey but was fine sitting out covered for a while. Easy, moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States