Wild Rice Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
I had to cook this dish a lot longer than anticipated. I doubled the bake time ad still added a few more minutes. It was a good side dish, but nothing special- except to us wild rice lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Everyone loved this rice dish! It was simply and tasty. Our family loves wild rice and I was seeking a new recipe with some flare. This had it! I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
My family loved this recipe. However, you need to reduce the chicken broth to 2 cups NOT 2 cans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This was good, but took a lot longer, than it says to cook. Good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Not bad but not really very different. Left out the water chestnuts as I didn't have any. Went pretty well with a stuffed chicken dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I cut this in half for two of us, and used half wild rice and half brown rice, subbed in slivered almonds for the water chestnuts (don't like w.c.'s), and left out the mushrooms (didn't have any) and salt (salt in butter and in low-sodium broth). This was delicious, though a little over the top on the butter; would cut that in 1/2 next time. I cooked the rices in the broth on the stovetop for 45 minutes, then transferred it to a small covered baking dish, with the rest of the ingredients I used, and baked for another 30 minutes. Probably could have used another 15 minutes on the wild rice. We enjoyed it though; it was a very nice accompaniment to the Grilled Pork Chops with Balsamic Carmelized Onions, and Pan Fried Asparagus we had tonight. Thank you, Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Just tried this for the first time. I enjoyed the wild rice/mushroom/water chestnut combo, but it lacked a little flavor in my book. As with the other reviews, I found it took much longer to cook and 29 oz. of chicken stock was too much. I'd cut that back to at least 24 oz. I will also cut back on the butter next time and substitute in some Z-Trim which I shoud have done this time reading the one review. What I did when all was said and done and I wanted more flavor was sprinkle on some parmesan cheese. That made it really tasty, I thought. I'll bake some in next time and make the other adjustments mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Based on the other reviews, I put in 29 oz of chicken broth, but added extra 1/4 cup of rice. I used Pecans instead of water chestnuts and No mushrooms, only carmelized onions. I baked for 1 1/2 hours in total. My family really liked it and they are very picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Very good-buttery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This was really good but,like other reviewers, I had to cook it a lot longer than the recipe calls for. I think it was at least an hour more! But it was worth the wait! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOZORIG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States