Wild Rice Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Great dish....followed the recipe as written. My family liked this dsh....something new for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I used this recipe as a base for what I made. I cooked on the stovetop and not in the oven. I also used boxed mix wild rice that had some seasonings added. I liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Pretty good recipe. Definitely takes longer than 30 minutes. At LEAST an hour. I also felt like it needed "something" so I added some Parmesan cheese to the top for the last few minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I leave out the mushrooms and butter and add chicken breasts. Usually I cook 3-4 breasts in water, when done dump wild rice in (or long grain and wild rice), salt and pepper. Depending on how much broth you have, this can be a great soup or casserole. I chop scallions and sprinkle on top before serving. I also steam broccoli florets and mix with the leftovers...yummy and nourishing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I used the ingredients listed but changed the cooking routine cuz of time constraints. I cooked the wild rice (40 minutes) in chicken broth with butter and salt one afternoon. The next day, in a deep 12" fry pan, I sauteed the onion, mushrooms and water chestnuts in butter until soft, stirred in the cooked rice and heated through. I then put it in a casserole dish, into a 375 degree F oven for 30 minutes. I needed to add a bit more liquid at this point. This was a BIG hit at the potluck dinner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was pretty good. I think if I make this again, I will reduce the amount of butter, as it did seem a bit greasy to me. The only thing that I did differently was to add about a 1/4 cup of white rice to the wild rice 30 minutes into the baking process. Otherwise, it was worth a 4 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I have made this several times, and the only thing I do a bit differently is use a butter spread (like Smart Balance Lite) instead of honest-to-goodness butter. It's always a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
It took the full 90 minutes to cook, but this recipe was totally worth it. Great taste, I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I was looking for a way to use leftover already cooked wild rice when I found this recipe. I sauted the onions & mushrooms (portabello) and then added the wild rice (cooked with veg. broth) & water chestnuts and heated through. So my method was stovetop from start to finish...very quick & easy since the rice was cooked. I really liked this dish and will definitely make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I really really liked this. Wonderful buttery flavor. I chopped my water chestnuts (liked that addition) and used just over 2 C broth. Make sure you caramalize your onions because that is where so much of the flavor comes from. I had no issues with this not cooking in the 60 min. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States