Wild Rice Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Great dish....followed the recipe as written. My family liked this dsh....something new for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I used this recipe as a base for what I made. I cooked on the stovetop and not in the oven. I also used boxed mix wild rice that had some seasonings added. I liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Pretty good recipe. Definitely takes longer than 30 minutes. At LEAST an hour. I also felt like it needed "something" so I added some Parmesan cheese to the top for the last few minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I leave out the mushrooms and butter and add chicken breasts. Usually I cook 3-4 breasts in water, when done dump wild rice in (or long grain and wild rice), salt and pepper. Depending on how much broth you have, this can be a great soup or casserole. I chop scallions and sprinkle on top before serving. I also steam broccoli florets and mix with the leftovers...yummy and nourishing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I used the ingredients listed but changed the cooking routine cuz of time constraints. I cooked the wild rice (40 minutes) in chicken broth with butter and salt one afternoon. The next day, in a deep 12" fry pan, I sauteed the onion, mushrooms and water chestnuts in butter until soft, stirred in the cooked rice and heated through. I then put it in a casserole dish, into a 375 degree F oven for 30 minutes. I needed to add a bit more liquid at this point. This was a BIG hit at the potluck dinner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was pretty good. I think if I make this again, I will reduce the amount of butter, as it did seem a bit greasy to me. The only thing that I did differently was to add about a 1/4 cup of white rice to the wild rice 30 minutes into the baking process. Otherwise, it was worth a 4 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I have made this several times, and the only thing I do a bit differently is use a butter spread (like Smart Balance Lite) instead of honest-to-goodness butter. It's always a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
It took the full 90 minutes to cook, but this recipe was totally worth it. Great taste, I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I was looking for a way to use leftover already cooked wild rice when I found this recipe. I sauted the onions & mushrooms (portabello) and then added the wild rice (cooked with veg. broth) & water chestnuts and heated through. So my method was stovetop from start to finish...very quick & easy since the rice was cooked. I really liked this dish and will definitely make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I really really liked this. Wonderful buttery flavor. I chopped my water chestnuts (liked that addition) and used just over 2 C broth. Make sure you caramalize your onions because that is where so much of the flavor comes from. I had no issues with this not cooking in the 60 min. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States