Wild Rice Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Easy to make, and yes be patient for the cooking time. I didn't have the water chestnuts but next time I will def. add them as I am sure they taste wonderful in this. I finely chopped my MR's as I have someone in house who doesn't like MR's but didn't know they were in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Doubled the recipe but not the butter and salt. Used the butter in the oven dish, but sautéed onions and mushrooms in olive oil. Timing for me was exactly as stated. 30 min before the veggies are added and 30 min after. Served with a turkey breast. Skipped the chestnuts since I didn't have them. Used Lundberg Wild Rice Blend. Everyone loved it. Never had made rice in the oven before. Was great to be able to just stick it in there for the last hour turkey was baking. Was ready before turkey but was fine sitting out covered for a while. Easy, moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
So easy and so delish! Didn't change a thing. Doubled really easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMOM2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I did alter it and make it into a dinner. Substitute DRIED PORCHINI MUSHROOMS and simmer them in the broth (2 Cups) at the beginning while sautéing the onion. Mix all ingredients at the beginning. Bake 45 minutes. Top with BONELESS CHICKEN BREASTS. Cover and Bake 45 minutes more. Option: Sprinkle with SHREDDED PARMESAN and Brown at the end. Let stand covered 15 minutes before serving. We aren't wild rice connoisseurs but we used LUNDBERG WILD BLEND which is very rich. I think the button mushrooms would have been overwhelmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
As a main dish, I added 2 cups of chopped chicken. I also added the seasoning mix that came with my wild rice instead of the salt, and it had a great flavor. I would cut back on the broth too, especially if you're short on time to cook. Very tasty recipe with good texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Yummy side dish with a nutty flavor and crunch. I think it's missing something though, but not sure what, perhaps more than one type of rice or an additional veggie. Easy to prepare, and I halved the recipe, which made 4 sizeable portions. Would recommend cutting large mushroom slices in half. I used slivered almonds per another's suggestion, and indeed found that the cook time was nearly 15 minutes longer to get the water to absorb. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This is a good recipe, however, the cooking times are based on real wild rice (harvested in lakes). Commercially grown, or paddy wild rice, takes more than twice as long to cook. Wild rice is varying shades of dull grey/brown. Commercial wild rice is nearly black & shiny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This ended up fabulous. I had to take it out of the oven and cook for at least another 20minutes on the stove to get the water to absorb but it was worth it. I used canned mushrooms and I think that is why it was watery at first. served it with chicken Marsala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
We didn't care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PURRBERT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
It was ok-Rice took longer to cook than the recipe said, and it was a little too buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States