Wild Rice Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I added chicken for a complete meal. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This is a delicious dish with a creamy risotto-like consistency and wonderful presentation. It's also super easy to make. I followed the suggestions of the other reviews and: 1) added 2 crushed garlic cloves, 2) used 1/2 of seasoning packets and 1/2 onion called for, 3) added 1/2 Cheddar & 1/2 Parmesean, 4)added water chestnuts and stirred 3/4 of way through cooking. I also didn't add the cheeses until just prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This was an easy slow cooker recipe. I followed it using the seasoning packets that came with the rice. This turned out pretty salty so I would only use one packet instead of 1 1/2 next time. I also used cheddar instead of american cheese but by the time it was done cooking I couldn't tell it was there. Next time I would add it at the end. Also, I added veggie crumbles for protein to make it a main dish. We cooked it on low for 6 hours so it would not get mushy and that timing worked out well. We will probably make this again, but just test out new spices/seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This turned out to be an excellent dish! I cooked mine in a Dutch oven for two hours on medium high to high, adding more chicken stock as necessary. I also added two chopped cloves of garlic and halved both the onion and the wild rice seasoning (thanks to the other reviewers who suggested this.) Omitted the celery as I had none, and used half cheddar cheese and half parmesan cheese and it rocked! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Two medium sized onions was too much for me. I also used colby cheese which turned out nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parlier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This recipe is a GREAT side dish. My only reason for giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because I altered it slightly. I used Colby instead of American cheese and I replaced the mushrooms with sliced water chestnuts. They added a really nice crunch. This goes really well with marinated pork tenderloin from this site. Thanks for a great, easy sidedish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
WOW! My family and I have chosen to fast meat and bread for 21 days. I searched for good, and filling meals and this recipe was so delicious that it will become an all time favorite in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Love it!! I absolutely love this dish. Yummo!! Add in ideas I've tried is cubed ham or pork sausage. I like salt but I can see how some would not like this dish because of the salt content. A way to reduce salt would be to use sodium free chicken broth and reduced sodium cream of chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Great recipe. I substituted chicken broth for the water for added flavor and used sliced portobello mushrooms for a more meatier mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by selooney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This was a gloppy mess.I followed the directions exactly but the rice turned to mush. The taste wasn't bad, just standard comfort food that has too much salt and fat to be healthy. I guess if your serving people that can't chew their food this would be ideal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States