Wild Rice Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I make it exactly as the recipe says and it's perfect. Now I add broccoli, water chestnuts, smoked sausage, and it's no longer a side dish. I've made this numerous times and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I made this as a Christmas side dish -- it was great! I don't really like mushrooms, so I omitted them without a problem and also used 12 oz of wild rice instead of instant rice mix and added chicken bouillon to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
OMG!!!!!!!!! This stuff is the best rice dish ever!!!! I used sharp cheddar instead of American cheese (only because I never buy American cheese because we don't normally prefer that kind) we are not big onion eaters so I just used 1 small sweet onion and pulverized it in my food chopper! I absolutely loved this dish and ate the leftovers for two days after! I did use unsalted butter as some of the other reviewers suggested but I am confident that using salted butter next time will not make the dish too salty! I am so grateful that you posted this recipe!!!!! I have decided I am going to experiment with it further and see if I can come up with something almost the same but using just plain brown rice (because I always have brown rice on hand). Thank you sooooo much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I loved this dish! Used Mozzarella cheese, 1/2 the butter, and used a blend of plain basmati rice and plain wild rice. Sprinkled some garlic salt on the top in the last 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I loved how easy this was but felt like it needed more flavor. I don't eat much cheese but decided to substitute the American for crumbled blue cheese and MAn did that kick it up a notch!! I just crumbled it in when it was warming and fully cooked and was very happy with the entire thing that way:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is one of the best side dishes I've ever had. I'm going to make it for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Used less butter and Mozarella cheese to reduce the fat. It still tasted great, just less guilty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This recipe has good potential. Using the ingredients listed it came out bland after cooking; not sure why. I will try it again sometime with some personal touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisamarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was fantastic! I highly recommend reading the reviews before making a recipe because it will save you time, expense, and disappointment. I thoroughly read the reviews and I practically have this recipe memorized because I almost had a disaster! Because manufacturers don't want to raise their prices on their products, they are lowering their volume. Let me explain: I bought all the ingredients and proceeded to combine the water, soup, and rice w/ only 1 seasoning packet when I discovered that my box of rice only has 4.3 oz. and the recipe calls for 6 oz. box, making it a total of 8.6 oz. so I was short 3.4 oz. On some ingredients that wouldn't make a big difference but rice needs to be more accurate. What was I to do? I went ahead and had to remove some of the liquid and cut down proportionally on the cheese. Having said all that, I will now tell you what changes I made. I used cr. of chix soup (son doesn't like mushrooms), 1/2 onion, no celery, butter, or mushrooms. Cooked 6 hours on low, stirring only once after 4 hours and it was perfect! All prepared to make soup w/ the leftovers, as someone else suggested, but I didn't have any! I even doubled this in one crockpot w/o any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I was so sad that this wasn't that good! too much butter and the rice "casserole" was just soggy rice, i would not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States