Wild Rice Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I took this to a pot-luck lunch and it received multiple rave reviews and requests for the recipe. I followed the recipe exactly with one exception: included probably 1 c. of mushrooms (instead of 1/2 c.), and cubed the butter & velveeta for better integration into the pot. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I did only use one seasoning packet from the rice, but it was still a little strange in flavor - I think this recipie could use a bit of balsamic vinegar, or another flavorful veggie or two added in - otherwise it's got the appearance of brown mushy rice that's very earthy in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Very good recipe. I only added one packet, used healthy request reduced sodium soup, just one onion and added extra mushrooms. Only issue was that it was a little mushy because I had timed it to take 9 hours and low and it probably needed 5-6 hours. Great vegetarian, gluten free side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lroy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Excellent! Made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit! I did however use our rice cooker and cooked the wild rice on Gaba Brown setting (3 + hours). Everyone raved about it! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I loved it!!! Easy and yummy. Altho I did cut back on the onions a bit, seemed like quite a lot to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJTINDLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I also only used one seasoning pack. This was pretty good and it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I feel strange being one of the rare few that didn't care for this dish. It was too salty, and I didn't even add salt to the recipe. Not sure if I was supposed to use the seasoning packet that came with the rice, but I ended up using it since there weren't any seasonings in the recipe. It wasn't terrible, just not a fave of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
We really enjoyed this side-dish. Only drawback was that I expected it to be done in 2 hours and it wasn't. No worries, we just ate 2 hours later! I did add about 6 oz. more water to try to speed up the process. This recipe make waaaay more that 8 servings, so it would be perfect for a large crowd. We are looking forward to the leftovers of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Man did this smell good cooking! I have to say though that it didn't taste as good. Not bad though. It wasn't what I was looking for. I used shredded cheese, that it what I had and it worked fine. None of my kids liked it so I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I added chicken for a complete meal. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States