Wild Rice Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This is a delicious dish with a creamy risotto-like consistency and wonderful presentation. It's also super easy to make. I followed the suggestions of the other reviews and: 1) added 2 crushed garlic cloves, 2) used 1/2 of seasoning packets and 1/2 onion called for, 3) added 1/2 Cheddar & 1/2 Parmesean, 4)added water chestnuts and stirred 3/4 of way through cooking. I also didn't add the cheeses until just prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This was an easy slow cooker recipe. I followed it using the seasoning packets that came with the rice. This turned out pretty salty so I would only use one packet instead of 1 1/2 next time. I also used cheddar instead of american cheese but by the time it was done cooking I couldn't tell it was there. Next time I would add it at the end. Also, I added veggie crumbles for protein to make it a main dish. We cooked it on low for 6 hours so it would not get mushy and that timing worked out well. We will probably make this again, but just test out new spices/seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This turned out to be an excellent dish! I cooked mine in a Dutch oven for two hours on medium high to high, adding more chicken stock as necessary. I also added two chopped cloves of garlic and halved both the onion and the wild rice seasoning (thanks to the other reviewers who suggested this.) Omitted the celery as I had none, and used half cheddar cheese and half parmesan cheese and it rocked! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Two medium sized onions was too much for me. I also used colby cheese which turned out nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parlier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This recipe is a GREAT side dish. My only reason for giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because I altered it slightly. I used Colby instead of American cheese and I replaced the mushrooms with sliced water chestnuts. They added a really nice crunch. This goes really well with marinated pork tenderloin from this site. Thanks for a great, easy sidedish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
WOW! My family and I have chosen to fast meat and bread for 21 days. I searched for good, and filling meals and this recipe was so delicious that it will become an all time favorite in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Love it!! I absolutely love this dish. Yummo!! Add in ideas I've tried is cubed ham or pork sausage. I like salt but I can see how some would not like this dish because of the salt content. A way to reduce salt would be to use sodium free chicken broth and reduced sodium cream of chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Great recipe. I substituted chicken broth for the water for added flavor and used sliced portobello mushrooms for a more meatier mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by selooney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This was a gloppy mess.I followed the directions exactly but the rice turned to mush. The taste wasn't bad, just standard comfort food that has too much salt and fat to be healthy. I guess if your serving people that can't chew their food this would be ideal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This is a FABULOUS dish!!! My husband and I loved it. I made a few alterations though. I added some cubed chicken, a clove of crushed garlic, and a can of water chestnuts for extra flavor. I only used 1 flavor packet from the rice and used reduced sodium soup to cut down on salt. Any more and it would have been salty! Make sure to stir it up periodically otherwise the rice on top won't soak enough liquid and it will be a little crunchy. I cooked mine on low for 7 hours and it was done properly, but there was a burned layer on the bottom of the crock pot. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States