Wild Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Too salty for my taste. This recipe would be so much better with low sodium soup and broth. The sausage and chicken made a good combo, but it wasn't enough to make me make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
This was pretty good. I used 2 packages of rice as others suggested, and that was perfect. I will make again, but probably won't bother with the sausage, or make it without meat. My fairly easy to please husband said it was "ok". All those ingredients are costly for just "ok" if you don't have them on hand. Maybe a simpler version as a sidedish next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Turned out great - big hit. I did make the following substitutions: 1 lb spicy smoked sausage instead of ground sausage. I just sliced it up and added it to the chicken & vegetables after they had been cooking for a while in the skillet. used 2 cans of cream of mushroom (didn't have cream of chicken on hand). Also doubled the rice amount - I had one 6 oz pkg of UB then doubled that with some brown rice. As I said - turned out great. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DFLICKD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I gave this four stars even though it was practically inedible because I used 2 boxes of UB wild rice as recommended but I also used both seasoning packets which was a giant mistake. The dish was SO SALTY I couldn't eat it. But others liked it, so go figure. I would use only 1 or none of the seasoning packets as the condensed soup should add plenty of flavor. Also, I used a 9x9 baking pan, and just continued to simmer the rest on the stove and both turned out the same. I liked the consistency and texture, just not the saltiness :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This was excellent!!! I made this for a dinner party and it was a huge hit. I used two boxes of the rice mixture, used three chicken breasts, used 1 1/2 pounds of sausage, and used two cans of chicken broth, just under three cups. It turned out perfect. Even the pickiest eaters loved this casserole. I will definately be making this on a regular basis from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This dish baked beautifully! I used spicy sausage and cubed chicken and sprinkled french onions on top. Very filling on a cold winter's night. And my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Fabulous! I tried this recipe a few months ago, and it's become a favorite in our household. I always stick to the recipe and it never fails to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
excellent! used 3 chicken breasts, 12-oz of jimmy dean regular/4-oz jimmy dean bold sausage, subbed 1 can cream of celery for the cream of chicken soup, 2 pkgs of uncle ben's w/1 flavor packet, 2 c. of chicken stock, and tossed in some herbs d'provence...for sure, this makes more than 8 servings...will make again...next time will add some wine and maybe a veggie...everyone had at least seconds...served w/tossed salad and french bread....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Indiana, USA
Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
I used "hot" pork sausage and two packages of rice. Very tasty, but made a lot more than eight servings! We'll be eating it for a while, but definitely a recipe worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
GREAT SUPRISE! My Wife and I love it. 2 boxes of UB wild rice was a good recommendation. Also we did 1/2 shoestring potatoes (from recommendation) and 1/2 almonds. They both were nice. I liked the almonds myself. Try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States