Wild Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Great Flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
so easy and comforting. Used 2 cups of the rice and 900ml of chicken stock, and no soup. Added black pepper, paprika and thyme. Added carrots, mushrooms and spinach - would definately add lots of veg. grated a little bit of parm and moz cheese on top. took exactly 1.5 hours to cook, covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leah
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This has become a family favorite. I cut the amount sausage in half and added more chicken. Also, as some other reviewers have suggested I used 2 boxes of rice and 1 spice packet with the amount of water called for in the recipe. It was perfect! My 2 and 4 year old LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I modified this a bit based on the ingredients I had. I used ground chicken only vs. both chicken breast AND pork. I used Health Requests Creams of Mushroom, Chicken and Celery. I did not have celery. I also used regular rice vs. wild rice. This is a great, easy, low cost recipe that is very filling and can be easily modified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I halved the recipe as there are only 2 of us. I did use the whole 6 oz box of rice, as other suggested doubling the rice, and I think it was a good ratio. (I wasn't sure whether to use the rice seasoning packet or not-- so I used 1/2 of it.) I also used probably 1 1/2 chicken breast halves, which turned out very moist. I used linguica sausage (instead of the pork sausage) and used fresh mushrooms (rather than canned) as I happened to have these on hand. Overall very good, we kept going back for more. Definitely a keeper. I served green beans as a side dish, next time I might try putting them in the casserole for some color as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This was great. I only had regular sausage so I chopped it up and used it instead, I didn't even have to double the rice like some others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I added a little more rice like suggested by the reviews and it was scrumptious! Tons of taste and very little effort. This is a good weeknight recipe for busy moms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
My husband liked it more than I did. If I made it again, (which I won't) I would use french fried onions or ritz crackers in place of the almonds. Also, per other reviewers, I reduced the amount of broth and cream-of-whatever and it turned out pretty dry. I would follow the recipe more closely next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
WOW this is scrumptious, according to my DH. He LOVED it!!!! I added 2 packages of rice to it, as other other readers suggested, and left out the almonds. but other than that, it is great. I cooked it for 1 1/2 hours and it was perfect!!! Soooo good... thanks for the recipe... Updated 3/31/08, just to add, this was salty, probably too much so, but I think that could be taken care of by adding just one of the packets of the seasoning mixes that comes with the rice, instead of adding two. Just a thought - I will do that next time I make this, and there WILL be a next time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I made this years ago for our family reunion and forgot to review it. It was delicious, made just as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States