Wild Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I had some wild rice I had cooked up last week. I can not Imagine why this recipe doe not have a face after 62 reviews! Well, I'm 63 with a Face for it! This was good, I dug through the fridge and completed this dish in 15 minutes flat! I by passed the cream of mushroom soup and just added flour to my sausage, onion & Fresh mushroom saute along with a bit of water, add the rice, heated it up and dinner was Done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
One of the favorite dishes my Mom made was Wild Rice Hotdish (that's the Midwest for you!) I unfortunately do not have her recipe, so I was looking for one that seemed to be similar to hers. This recipe fit the bill. I did make a few changes to this recipe. I LOVE wild rice, and it is a Minnesota specialty, so I cooked four ounces of wild rice and added it before mixing all the ingredients together. I simmered it for an hour with a cover on the saucepan, and it still wasn't fully cooked. However, adding it to the above recipe at this point worked perfectly since it was going to go into the oven for an hour and a half. I used the above 4 ounces (before cooking) of wild rice and one six ounce package of long grain and wild rice. It worked out perfectly with amount of liquid in this recipe. I happened to have chicken thighs on hand instead of chicken breasts, so I deboned them and took the skin off and used those instead of the chicken breasts. My frying pan isn't that big, so I first fried the sausage and then dumped it into a 5 quart stock pot. Next I browned the chicken and added that to the stock pot. I then sauteed the onions, garlic and celery, and added an 8 ounce package of fresh mushrooms instead of those rubbery canned mushrooms. After sauteing those were thrown into the stock pot. I then added all the rest of the ingredients, stirred it all up, and divided it between a 3 quart and a 2 quart casserole with lids. It turned out perfectly! NUM NUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I'm giving this a full 5 stars because it was THAT good! Fortunately, I read the reviews and realized I was going to have to make some changes, otherwise, I think I would have been terribly embarrassed in front of my company tonight! I used sweet Italian sausage because I just prefer it. Removed from casings, fried & crumbled. Five chicken breasts, cooked in the grease from the sausage, removed to plate with sausage. Add olive oil to pan drippings and fry chopped onion with sliced bella mushrooms(not canned!),adding garlic towards the end. I then added 1 can of golden mushroom soup,1 can of cream of chicken soup, at least 3 cups of fat free, low sodium chicken broth, 2 boxes of long grain & wild rice with both seasoning packets. I mixed in the meat after the other ingredients were well combined. I added the slivered almonds to the mixture instead of on top, spooned all into a large casserole & refrigerated overnight. The next day, I let casserole warm as the oven came to 350 degrees & let cook covered for about 1 1/2 hrs. An extra person showed up for dinner so I microwaved some brown rice and stirred it in. Then I topped with french fried onions & browned uncovered for about 15 minutes. I got rave reviews! Dish was nearly licked clean! I don't see how the original recipe could feed 8 people! I had 9 with nearly nothing left. Next time I think I will add another box of rice. Some reviewers thought this dish too salty but I did not think it was at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Followed recipe exactly and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I read and followed the suggestions of the other reviewers before making this. I doubled the rice- and the rice that I bought came with seasoning packets (uncle ben's), so I added those and had plenty of flavor. I also used 2 cans cream of mushroom and two cans cream of celery. It turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I had high hopes that fell flat. Salty and soupy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Isanti, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Very good flavor. I added chopped carrots and red pepper and used fresh mushrooms. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was good. I added some pork lion in mines also, only because I thought it was chicken I was thawing out. So I had chicken, sausage, and pork lion. I also added seasons. Was very imperessed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanita
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
love it. left out the mushrooms. doubled the rice and I think I could add a third box, minus the seasoning pkg. left out the chicken, and doubled the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I made it exactly like to recipe except I used two boxes of rice mix and added the seasoning packets that came with the rice mix. It was pretty salty. Next time I will leave out one or both of the seasoning packets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States