Wild Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I'm giving this a full 5 stars because it was THAT good! Fortunately, I read the reviews and realized I was going to have to make some changes, otherwise, I think I would have been terribly embarrassed in front of my company tonight! I used sweet Italian sausage because I just prefer it. Removed from casings, fried & crumbled. Five chicken breasts, cooked in the grease from the sausage, removed to plate with sausage. Add olive oil to pan drippings and fry chopped onion with sliced bella mushrooms(not canned!),adding garlic towards the end. I then added 1 can of golden mushroom soup,1 can of cream of chicken soup, at least 3 cups of fat free, low sodium chicken broth, 2 boxes of long grain & wild rice with both seasoning packets. I mixed in the meat after the other ingredients were well combined. I added the slivered almonds to the mixture instead of on top, spooned all into a large casserole & refrigerated overnight. The next day, I let casserole warm as the oven came to 350 degrees & let cook covered for about 1 1/2 hrs. An extra person showed up for dinner so I microwaved some brown rice and stirred it in. Then I topped with french fried onions & browned uncovered for about 15 minutes. I got rave reviews! Dish was nearly licked clean! I don't see how the original recipe could feed 8 people! I had 9 with nearly nothing left. Next time I think I will add another box of rice. Some reviewers thought this dish too salty but I did not think it was at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Followed recipe exactly and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I read and followed the suggestions of the other reviewers before making this. I doubled the rice- and the rice that I bought came with seasoning packets (uncle ben's), so I added those and had plenty of flavor. I also used 2 cans cream of mushroom and two cans cream of celery. It turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I had high hopes that fell flat. Salty and soupy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Isanti, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Very good flavor. I added chopped carrots and red pepper and used fresh mushrooms. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was good. I added some pork lion in mines also, only because I thought it was chicken I was thawing out. So I had chicken, sausage, and pork lion. I also added seasons. Was very imperessed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanita
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
love it. left out the mushrooms. doubled the rice and I think I could add a third box, minus the seasoning pkg. left out the chicken, and doubled the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I made it exactly like to recipe except I used two boxes of rice mix and added the seasoning packets that came with the rice mix. It was pretty salty. Next time I will leave out one or both of the seasoning packets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I really enjoyed this dish. It was easy and was different. I will add to my regular list of meals to cook for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Great Flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States