Wild Rice And Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I was pretty neutral about this soup. It tasted a bit bland to me. Considering that and its very high fat content, I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I thought it was really delicious! I cooked brown rice separately and then spooned soup over the rice when service. I also added some sauteed garlic to the mix. Loved the flavor of this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
this is a great recipe and the only reason I strayed away from the ingredients list is because I have a child who has gluten and dairy allergies. because of his allergies I ended up using brown rice flour in place of regular all purpose flour and I use rice milk instead of whole milk. outside of those modifications I followed the recipe exactly as it is and it was a hit! everyone enjoyed it from my uber picky husband down to my three children. the only thing I would suggest and this is just based on my personal taste preference... I bumped up the salt to a full teaspoon and also the poultry seasoning because I like the sage flavors I added a little bit more of the poultry seasoning. this recipe will be in my arsenal of soup recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This was a great soup! Based on other reviewers, I only used about 3 Tablespoons of olive oil to saute 2 stalks chopped celery and regular onion (not green), and only used half of the flour. I used 2 cups pre-cooked wild rice. I added a can of mushrooms, used a combination of basil, thyme, rosemary and garlic powder. Used 1% milk instead of cream. I realize this sounds like a totally different soup, but this was an excellent jumping off point and it was tasty and fewer calories than original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
My husband made this recipe and we both agreed that it is terrific. He used skimmed evaporated milk rather than cream. I was a little bummed that the recipe had a whole stick of butter and will definitely reduce that amount when I prepare it. It was a delicious recipe though and it will be on our table again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I am a lover of wild rice. This was a good recipe. 2nd time I omitted all flour. Added canned mushrooms. Sautéed 3 cloves of garlic with canned mushrooms, green onions, and chopped red onions. At first I thought it was too much butter, but after soup simmered it was just right. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I did not use cream at all, instead I used the extra broth I had. Less fat. Also added mushrooms. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as given with one change - I used 1% milk instead of heavy cream. Everything else I did exactly as the recipe says, and it came out delicious! My whole family loved it and gobbled it up. Some said it needed more salt and pepper, and we are thinking about adding crumbled bacon as a garnish next time I make it. I think more rice would also be good. The consistency was absolutely perfect - it was a thin cream soup. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This soup is delicious! I also added celery with the onions and added carrots in with the rice and broth. Also instead of cream, I used almond milk. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Fantastic! I followed "Bonnie" suggestions and used sweet onion, added 3 cloves of garlic, sauteed a can of mushroom pieces I had on hand and a handful of leftover SuperBowl multi colored bell peppers. 3 cups of chicken stock and 3 cups of water. 1 cup of long grain and wild rice and about 5 cups of leftover bbq/rub flavored chicken breasts. Wound up adding a couple more cups of water at the end as well, a bit thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States