Wild Rice And Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
This was FABULOUS! In addition to the wild rice, I stirred in 1/2 cup of leftover white rice and a handful of tiger shrimp. There are no leftovers! Thanks Glenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
Mmm mmm good!! I've made this using both egg noodles and wild rice...you can't really tell much of a difference. My grocery store doesn't carry raw wild rice, so I used the heat and serve, boil in a bad type of soup...which worked great because I just added the rice during the last step with the chicken and pimentos and before I knew it, my dinner was ready. It was so quick this way!! I like to add 8 oz canned sliced mushrooms at the end, as well (sauteeing them with the onions, i've found, will cause them to absorb too much of the butter, leaving chunks of flour). I use light butter and skim milk instead of the heavy cream. I liked the idea of adding celery as other reviewers suggested, but I didn't have any on hand so I threw in a can of cream of celery soup when I mixed together the broth and onion mix. Everything else I left the same...and it tasted GREAT!! With the red pimentos, green onions, and white of the broth, this would make a wonderful christmas soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I loved this recipe. The only problem was that it lacked flavor at the end. More seasoning and some lemon juice fixed that. mmmmm...... Also, I used mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I think I need to make this again. Whatever you do, don't use white rice. It makes the soup really doughy, so I had to add water, and then it reduced the seasoning taste. I can definitely see how it has potential though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Absolutely delicious. I added a package of pre-cut mushrooms, and really enjoyed the addition. I may try to substitute something less fattening than cream next time, to cut down on the fat. But made as the recipe indicates, this is one amazing soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
I used this recipe for a party at work and everybody loved it. I replaced the pimentos with mushrooms as mentioned by someone else and then added extra rice to make it heartier. You can't gowrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
VERY good, creamy soup...BUT I added/changed a few things. I used regular onion instead of green onions, and I added chopped celery, carrots and fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
I had a little trouble with this when I added the flour to the onions and butter it became a dough ball. I added some water and that didn't really help, so I went ahead and added the cream and spices. I had to wisk it to get the lumps out and was worried that it wouldn't work out. When I added it to the rice and broth everything turned out awesome. My wife and I believe this is the best wild rice soup we have ever had! I highly recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
I took some of the submitter's advice - used a little more wild rice, sauted reg. onions instead of green onions AND some minced celery, fresh sliced mushrooms, & shredded carrots. Finally, at the end, I added a jar of diced pimentos. Ended up w/ a nice big pot of great tasting soup! I had a craving for this sort of thing and this recipe really hit the spot! Thanks Glenda for the recipe and your helpful hints!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
I mistakenly added this review to another recipe (Creamy chicken and rice soup) that I haven't made yet. THIS is the soup I made and it was wonderful. I doubled the recipe and was able to cut down on the thickening ingredients because it didn't need it all. I didn't use pimentos because I didn't have any and no one missed them. This was the best tasting soup I have ever had. My whole family thought so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fairmount City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States