Wild Rice And Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Pretty good. Mine was rather thick, but partly bc I used a pan I thought would be big enough but really wasn't, so I couldn't add the water. I like thick soups, though, so it didn't bother me although hubs muttered a tad. He laughed when I told him why it was so thick. I didn't use a full 3/4 cup of flour; instead, I used about 1/2 cup. I used regular rice that I had already cooked with vegetables, and I added celery and regular onions (no green onions here) and some canned peas near the end. I forgot to look for pimentos in the cupboard; I would try next time if I remember. This is a pretty decent soup and a nice comfort food on a cold winter's day. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Amazing!!!! This soup is perfect for a cold day. Hearty and filling with a ton of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lostangel_24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This soup was very delicious. After reading the suggestions, I tweaked it for myself by seasoning the chicken while it cooked, used 1 cup of heavy cream, 1 and 1/4 cup of rice, and a about 1/2 cup of flour. I think this makes the perfect soup consistency. I also did not have chicken broth so I used chicken boullion cubes and cooked it accordingly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
The wild rice had a very strong smell when cooking, and it turned all of us off to this soup. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
So good, I was surprised at how much flavor there was! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Looking over the recipe I knew it wasn’t going to be substantive enough; that I would be adding celery and mushrooms. I sautéed those ingredients together with sweet white onion rather than the green onion, and added fresh minced garlic for extra flavor. I love adding pimiento to my Chicken a la King and knew I would love it here too. Poultry seasoning isn’t something I have at our home in Naples so I had to be creative with what I had - a little Penzey’s Fox Point Seasoning (for those unfamiliar with our Penzey’s Spices in Wisconsin, Fox Point is a suburb north of Milwaukee), some Montreal Chicken Seasoning and fresh chopped parsley, rosemary and thyme. What I knew I wouldn’t like was the flour, knowing it simply would not be necessary and in fact, might even result in a consistency I wouldn’t care for. I omitted it entirely. Hubs is not a big fan of wild rice and I must admit I knew I would much prefer it mixed with regular, long grain rice. I used a 50/50 mix of both, simmering the wild rice in all broth, no water, for 45 minutes, then adding the white rice and simmering for another 20 minutes. Even without the flour I needed to add more chicken broth for my liking. This was creamy and satisfying, and gratefully not too rich – NOT adding the flour was a good call. Still, with all that’s going on with this soup, particularly with my additions, it still fell a little flat. No doubt adding some bacon and a glug of white wine would fix that right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Sooo Delicious!!!! Added some grated carrots and slivered almonds plus extra chicken. Thanks Glenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hastings, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I did add carrots and used milk instead of cream. Didn't have pimentos this time but will try them next time. My husband couldn't stop raving about how good it was. Thank you Glenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Amazing! I know some cooks get a little upset when recipes posted are changed, but I combined ideas from two recipes as i like more veggies. I used 46 oz of chicken stock (costco) in lieu of water and poultry seasoning. I added three chopped celery stalks, 1 chopped carrot and 8oz of chopped fresh mushrooms to the onion sautee. Used half and half and skim in lieu of heavy cream - adjusted flour for desired thickness and used 1 cup of wild rice. It was a wonderful, hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Excellent! The second time I made it I added 1/2 cup of flour instead of 3/4. It was not as thick which suited our taste. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States