Wild Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
This stuffing is outstanding! It's a beautiful dark color from the wild mushrooms, and everyone at my Thanksgiving dinner loved it. Many went back for seconds on this before the turkey!! It is a little time consuming to prepare, but well worth the effort. I couldn't find egg bread, so I cubed and toasted egg buns, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
This is an excellent recipe. I love mushrooms so having a variety of mushrooms in one dish was extra special. My family and neighbors loved this stuffing and said it was the best they've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This was the best stuffing I've ever had. I had several people at my dinner table that didn't like stuffing, but they loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
Guests with vastly different tastes *raved* about this at Thanksgiving! Wild Mushroom Stuffing is about to become an annual tradition in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
The most fantastic stuffing recipe, EVER! One of the first times I saw everyone clean their plates... I took some liberties with the recipe. Instead of only adding dried porchini mushrooms, I also added morels, chanterelles, oyster, and lobster mushrooms. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
Based on looks alone I give this recipe 5 stars. My husband said it looked so professional, he loved the taste and couldn't get enough of it. Also I made this at Thanksgiving time and egg bread was very very scarce around here, I ended up using butter egg rolls and cut them up, this recipe still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
Used rosemary bread from our machine and button mushrooms, subbed waterchestnuts for celery and red onions for leeks, added 1/2tsp. minced garlic, halved thyme and sage. Mushrooms cooked in white & red wine/broth reduction. I diced up 1 can of pears to add at end and used wine/broth reduction to moisten. I don't think I ever had better stuffing/dressing!! It was absolutely delicious...can't imagine if I had wild shrooms!!! I'm not fond of the texture of the dried thyme and rosemary "needles"...will grind them up better next time. TY for the fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
I just made this for the holidays, AMAZING! I used Rosemary bread as I read in someone elses review and it is lovely. My mother-in-law picks her own mushrooms and dries them so I eyeballed the amount. I also used half celery and half water chestnuts which was a nice blend. This recipe is such a earthy dish that it warms the soul for the holidays. I will definitely be making this for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I gave this a two because of the amount of time and effort this takes to make. It is also expensive (where I live mushrooms are not cheap). It was good but lots of work. Good recipe if you have a lot of people hanging around the kitchen looking for something to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This stuffing was so unforgettable last year that it was specifically requested again. I used this recipe to stuff the "world's greatest turkey" recipe from this site which uses champagne as the basting juice--talk about elegant. I also found a great sweet potato recipe "praline sweet potatoes" it bakes up light and fluffy like a souffle--that was also requested again this year and though I doubled it last year I may triple it this time because it was the first to go! All in all it was a very gourmet meal and everyone (20 people) were highly impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SolarMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States