Wild Mushroom Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Although the recipe says a package of puff pastry dough, the recipe made it sound like only one sheet was needed. I did struggle a bit getting the pastry into the proper size, ended up with way too much filling, at which point I realized I should have used both sheets. The filling was tasty, and if you are good with pastry - would make a nice appetizer, although I though they lost a lot once they cooled to room temperature. Much better when hot. It reminds me of one of my favorite recipes, which used the very thin sliced pepperidge farm bread cut into circles and fit into buttered muffin tins. You can bake the bread until golden and remove from the cupcake tins, you have little tart shells, then, and you could use this recipe as a filling. I think I would try that next time since I struggled with the pastry dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delran, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dmeadville
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made quite a few changes with this based on what I had in my kitchen. I used onion instead of shallots, oregano instead of thyme, and butter and milk instead of heavy cream. Still, it turned out great and my boyfriend and I both loved them! I'd like to try it with regular pastry, since I had a problem keeping the puff pastry closed, but the puff pastry is SOOO tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmeadville

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
These were fantastic. I didn't measure anything though. I used some dehydrated wild mushrooms that i had, and i have no idea how much they weighed. The dehydrated mushrooms worked surprisingly well, I rehydrated them in skim milk, then in warm water, then dried them and fried them a little in the onion and garlic and oil. I also only used one sheet of puff pastry since I was only cooking for the two of us. I was too lazy to convert the measurements so i just put everything together. I didnt have any shallots so I used onion. I probably used more cream since I like things saucy. I had a lot of extra mushrooms and sauce so I kept it warm and put a little on top of the pastry when it was time to eat. My husband really liked these and even went back and ate some cold ones later. It is a very classy side for a beef or chicken dish. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
The pastry is a bit tricky to work with, but if you roll it thin enough, and don't stuff them too much, it works quite well. I used dried thyme, and it tasted great - to liven the recipe up, though, I added a large splash of balsamic vinegar into the mushroom mix while looking them. It gave the recipe that extra touch. SO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mmm.Wine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Yum! skipped the cheese for a dairy free version. DELISH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
this was excellent...I couldn't get the puff pastry to turn over and seal( put a bit too much shrooms in the middle)so I just boated it up around the shrooms and it puffed right up like a tart, I added a bit of stilton to the top and namnam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamsyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This recipe was very yummy. A hit with my husband and Child. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I addeed minced pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I am going to try this again. I did not have access to Wild Mushrooms and used Button and Baby Portabella's instead. It was very very watery. I also had difficulty cutting the pastry into the correct sizes. Actually ended up making them more like ravioli with a top and a bottom. It was very tasty and I will try this again. I think this may take some practice. Loved the puff pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by comicfairy
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Rather than do the pockets, I used a mini muffin pan. Left each serving uncovered so I would have enough dough for 24 mini bites. Also left out the heavy cream in an attempt to cut calories and had no shallots. Tastes just as good with the garlic, mushrooms, thyme and cheese alone. Soooooo yummy! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by comicfairy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States