Wienerschnitzel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
This recipe is very similar to the 1950's Luchow recipe...it's astoundingly good. I make mine without the breadcrumbs, and with only one egg. Also, I do a sour cream mushroom gravy to go with it. Once the chops are removed from the pan to a warm plate, I saute mushrooms and shallots in a 2 tbsp of butter and a tbs or two of brandy, and stir in 2 tbs of fresh sour cream...it's a yummy finisher to this most delicious of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Nice good to put a drop or two of water between the veal and the plastic as it helps the meat to be able to spread. the 3 minutes a side depends on the thickness of the veal...the recipe implies about 4 oz cutlets, which can be easily pounded out to a thiness that would cook in that amount of time. But it has to be 1/4 of an inch or so to cook enough in this time so be advised you'll need thin veal to start, not veal chops or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Boy did we love this! Thanks to spiderfarmer for the topping tip (mushrooms, brandy & shallots), that really made it just perfection. My husband was most impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
So quick and simple to prepare, so beautiful and delicious. To give the veal some color interest I added the parsley to the bread crumbs rather than the egg mixture, then browned it in clarified butter so it wouldn't burn. I omitted the nutmeg and, in keeping with the Italian twist of the Parmesan cheese, served this with tomato sauce with vodka and cream and farfalle (bowtie) pasta. ("Vodka Pasta a la Guido," also from this site)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I had two chucks of pork tenderloin. I pounded them down to 1/4 inch and followed the recipe. I fixed red cabbage and parsley potatoes to go along with the wienerschnitzel for an excellent German dinner. I will fixed these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I did these with beef, since I am anti-veal, but they were EXCELLENT! Came out crispy and delicious. Once I removed from the pan, I added just a touch of lemon juice, and it tasted just like Oma's Haus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This rivals my Austrian friend's Wienerschnitzel! I love it. I did try it with thin pork chops and it was fabulous. Did the recipe exactly except for that. I don't doubt that veal would be excellent. Will try that soon. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoirJet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This has to be the best Wienerschnitzel I have ever made! I used thin boneless Pork Chops and pounded them until I could read through them and followed the recipe exactly -Putting the breaded chops in the fridge is a must for the coating to stay put-I put the cooked chops in a 190 degree oven to stay warm and made a sauce using another poster's idea-I used mushrooms and shallots and cognac and when they were soft I added a tbs of flour and cooked it out and added whole milk to make a sauce-I salted and peppered it and it was fabulous! Well worth the extra steps but even the kids enjoyed it-The pork came out moist and tender -This recipe I will be making again-Next time for company
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Analiese Fammler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was really easy to prepare and cooked up quickly too. My family just wasn't impressed though, they both rated this a 3. They offered no suggestions as to what would have improved this. My son ate his with plum sauce and liked it that way better that way. They thought this was dry and needed a sauce of some type. Thanks, I enjoyed preparing something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
really really tasty! I teach a cooking class for young children and even my picky eaters enjoyed this. I did substitute pork for the veal and served with a side of Spaetzle--great German dish for my class to create! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States