Wicked Good Veggie Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I can't believe all the good reviews. I like hot food but this was EXTREMELY HOT AND NOT IN A GOOD WAY. I have never tasted anything so hot. I made it exactly as written but it was inedible because of the heat. I had to add two extra cans of tomatoes and two extra cans of rinsed beans to eliminate some of the heat. STILL TOO HOT. I love hot food but this was miserable to try to eat. I am not happy about all the ingredients I wasted making this. Do not serve this to anyone unless they are your enemy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamInBama
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
We make this without tvp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
SO GOOD! I leave out the cinnamon, but the honey is an awesome touch!! I use 1C of TVP, add corn, olives, & sub a can of kidneys for mixed beans, sub a can of diced tomatoes in juice for a can of crushed tomatoes in tomato sauce, makes it a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Great recipe - made it vegan by subbing maple syrup for honey (was out of agave nectar!) and using cashew cream instead of sour cream. My omnivore husband and I both loved it. We will add this to our regulars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
AWESOME flavor!!! Wouldn't change a thing! However, I did add black beans and a 1/2 jar of my fave salsa - Clint's (Black Bean & Corn) Texas Salsa - for fun! Super yum! Will definitely make again! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Very tasty and easy. It is fabulous with white rice. I cut back on the Cayenne and black pepper. I also increased the TVP. I am going to fix this often for Fridays during Lent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I will make this again with half the spices and NO cinnamon. With these changes, I think I will have a good replacement for my favorite chili that contains meat. I used 1 can kidney beans, 1 can of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I loved this recipe! I used Trader Joes meatless crumbles and it was fantastic. Let it simmer on the stove for about an hour on the half, stirring occasionally. Also sliced avacados and put in the chili with no sour cream! It was a Superbowl hit! Thanks Nikki
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Really good! Did this in the slow cooker, sauteing the pepper, carrots, garlic, and onion with the fake meat first. I used the fake meat crumbles instead of TVP (no soaking, just looks like ground beef). I reduced the cayenne pepper by 1/2 (didn't want it to be too spicy for the average person) and only used 2 cloves of garlic. It was still pretty spicy and so good! I also added a can of corn. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States