Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
These are incredibly good, especially when making a few modifications. Like other reviewers, I added a box of instant chocolate pudding to the mix. True, the "dough" is very runny but trust me, it works. Parchment paper will be your friend. I put two cookie sheets in one oven for 11 minutes, rotating the sheets from top to bottom halfway through cooking. As for the filling, I used a recipe I found on another site for a more "authentic" whoopie pie. Their cake was way more complicated than this one but the frosting was easy enough and was as delicious as other reviewers (on that site) said it was. Here's what you do: In a saucepan, on medium-low heat, stir 1 cup whole milk with 5 tablespoons sifted flour. Stir constantly until thickened (not too thick). Let cool. In a large bowl, cream 1 stick softened butter and 1/2 cup shortening. Add 1 cup sifted confectioner's sugar, 1/4 tsp salt and 2 tsp vanilla. Mix with blender on Medium until well blended. Add cooled flour mixture 1 tablespoon at a time and blend with blender on high until light and flufffy. This filling is wonderful and goes perfectly with the whoopie pies. Got lots of requests for this recipe when I made this for a party! As other reviewers stated, this is best made the day before. It's also yummy if you microwave it for a few seconds before eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I made these according to everyone else's suggestions. I used a devils food cake mix and 1 regular size box of instant pudding. This did make the batter nice and thick so it was easier to shape into a circle with the back of a spoon. I used a HEAPING tablespoon full of batter and used parchment paper (about 9 per cookie sheet). Baked for about 20 min.'s per batch. They came out PERFECT!!! For the filling I didn't make the flour mixture on the stove I just mixed 1/2 c butter flavored crisco, 1 1/4 c powdered sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 3 or 4 tbsp milk, and 3/4 c marshmallow fluff. Mixed with my mixer on highest speed till it was nice and fluffy. The tint is light yellow from the butter crisco, but WHO CARES! It tasted AMAZING! Yes there is a little work involved, but it is OH so worth it. The kids went NUTZ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Everyone loved these. Was a little time consuming trying to drop the batter into perfect circles onto cookie sheets but it was all worth it. Adding the box of instant pudding jello mix really makes the difference I think. For the filling, I used: 2 egg whites, 1 c butter flavored Crisco, 1 lb box confectioners sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 4 tb flour, and 4 tb milk. Everyone raved about the soft and moist cakes and even more so about the creamy filling. As other reviewers stated, tasted great after refrigerated! I tried to individually wrap some in saran wrap, but found that it left a weird imprint of the saran wrap on the cakes. I'm picky w/ presentation, so I just put them all on a plate and saran wrapped the whole plate to avoid weird imprints. I guess people can avoid the weird imprints if you can wrap your whoopies pies perfectly, but I couldn't! Will definitely be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I love these especially with a pkg of pudding mix to make it even moister. My kids take these over the oreo cakesters any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
i tried this recipe because it got so many good reviews but was really disappointed with it. i followed the directions on the box of devils food cake mix and not only did the come out flat, but the cake didn't taste like any of the whoopie pies i've ever had. Also, even though I beated the filling for a good amount of time, for some reason i couldn't get it smooth because the sugar just clumped up. If anyone has better recipes, please let me know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Photo by luv2eat5
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
These Whoopie Pies were the best! I used the jello mix, and 3/4 cups of water, along with other directions and they were perfect! The cream I used a different recipe, but all in all they were just like a bakery Whoopie Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
We wanted to try this recipe for a fundraising sale. As a prior wedding cake maker, I tend to use all top ingredients while baking. I made this recipe the first time with a brand name cake mix (with pudding in mix) The cakes turned out great, seemed just like when we make them from scratch. Some of the other people on the fundraising committee thought we should try using a cheap cake mix. The cakes turned out totally different. Not horrible, just different. As for the filling...I used half butter and half shortening. I followed the directions exactly after that. I did add some marshmallow fluff. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Going back to my old recipe with the marshmellow cream filling. Cookies came out flat, frosting had a weird taste. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
So good. I used a Butter Recipe Chocolate cake mix which is really fluffy on its own. I added about 1/2 a box of chocolate pudding to it. I used the recommendations on the site for the filling... delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I love the ease creating this dough. However, I kinda blew it with the filling. I attempted to make the filling by just reading the ingredients & dumping everything in the mixer. Oops! I realized there was more to the directions when I had alot of milk to still add. So, I whipped what was in the bowl real well, added a bit more conf sugar, and whipped real well again. It still tasted ok & was light with a melt in your mouth texture. I had to "fill" somewhat sparingly but the end result was still a big hit. I will, read the directions carefully next time to "fill" the cookies properly. Thanks for an easy, yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States