Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
The whoopie pies turned out good (except they tend to stick to your fingers). I tried putting them in the refrigerator. Thanks for the recipe. I need thought I would be making something like this. Dawn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dagsboro, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
These are incredible- especially if eaten frozen! They get really cold, not hard. You must try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I just made these & they met w/ rave reviews from my family. It's not gourmet, but it's nice to have some versatile recipes that are easy & fun to make w/ your kids. This is one of those. I did change it to suit our tastes & followed a few suggestions. I used a butter recipe yellow cake mix & added lemon pudding to the mix. I also made the other filling that some other reviewers suggested because it used butter instead of shortening & I substituted the milk for lemon juice. Very light, fun & just the right size for little hands. I cooked the cakes @ 350 for 11 min & they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenandMaggie McClain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I agree with "Alafoe" that this is a cheater recipe, but it is the best whoopie pie recipe i have found thus far. Having grown up in Maine, whoopie pies are naturally one of my favorite desserts. I have been searching for the perfect recipe for quite some time. If anyone has a recipe this good made from scratch I would love to know it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mountainmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fryeburg, Maine, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was a really tasty recipe. The recipe though does not give any cooking times - I cooked the cakes for about 12 minutes. The recipe also does not give a temperature for making the Milk/Four paste - I put it just above medium, stirring constantly it turned out well. Overall a really tasty treat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I made a deluxe whoopie pies: Use a marble cake mix, adding 2 tablespoons flour & just 3/4 cup of water. When you make the 1 cup of chocolate batter, pipe with 1/4" nozzle designs on half of your pie circles before popping them in the oven. I used musical symbols - they make a bold brown-on-white background! When you've piped about 20 circles, mix the remaining chocolate into the white batter, and make 20 more plain chocolate batter circles. Double the alternate filling recipe using marshmallow fluff. Yumptious esp for kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
These are incredibly good, especially when making a few modifications. Like other reviewers, I added a box of instant chocolate pudding to the mix. True, the "dough" is very runny but trust me, it works. Parchment paper will be your friend. I put two cookie sheets in one oven for 11 minutes, rotating the sheets from top to bottom halfway through cooking. As for the filling, I used a recipe I found on another site for a more "authentic" whoopie pie. Their cake was way more complicated than this one but the frosting was easy enough and was as delicious as other reviewers (on that site) said it was. Here's what you do: In a saucepan, on medium-low heat, stir 1 cup whole milk with 5 tablespoons sifted flour. Stir constantly until thickened (not too thick). Let cool. In a large bowl, cream 1 stick softened butter and 1/2 cup shortening. Add 1 cup sifted confectioner's sugar, 1/4 tsp salt and 2 tsp vanilla. Mix with blender on Medium until well blended. Add cooled flour mixture 1 tablespoon at a time and blend with blender on high until light and flufffy. This filling is wonderful and goes perfectly with the whoopie pies. Got lots of requests for this recipe when I made this for a party! As other reviewers stated, this is best made the day before. It's also yummy if you microwave it for a few seconds before eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I made these according to everyone else's suggestions. I used a devils food cake mix and 1 regular size box of instant pudding. This did make the batter nice and thick so it was easier to shape into a circle with the back of a spoon. I used a HEAPING tablespoon full of batter and used parchment paper (about 9 per cookie sheet). Baked for about 20 min.'s per batch. They came out PERFECT!!! For the filling I didn't make the flour mixture on the stove I just mixed 1/2 c butter flavored crisco, 1 1/4 c powdered sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 3 or 4 tbsp milk, and 3/4 c marshmallow fluff. Mixed with my mixer on highest speed till it was nice and fluffy. The tint is light yellow from the butter crisco, but WHO CARES! It tasted AMAZING! Yes there is a little work involved, but it is OH so worth it. The kids went NUTZ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Everyone loved these. Was a little time consuming trying to drop the batter into perfect circles onto cookie sheets but it was all worth it. Adding the box of instant pudding jello mix really makes the difference I think. For the filling, I used: 2 egg whites, 1 c butter flavored Crisco, 1 lb box confectioners sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 4 tb flour, and 4 tb milk. Everyone raved about the soft and moist cakes and even more so about the creamy filling. As other reviewers stated, tasted great after refrigerated! I tried to individually wrap some in saran wrap, but found that it left a weird imprint of the saran wrap on the cakes. I'm picky w/ presentation, so I just put them all on a plate and saran wrapped the whole plate to avoid weird imprints. I guess people can avoid the weird imprints if you can wrap your whoopies pies perfectly, but I couldn't! Will definitely be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I love these especially with a pkg of pudding mix to make it even moister. My kids take these over the oreo cakesters any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States