Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Great whoopie pie recipe! Followed exactly using a Devils Food mix that already had pudding in it. As I was whisking the inside filling, I kept having to add more milk. Other than that, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
SUBLIME! Made these for a Christmas dinner party and they were a hit! You can use any flavor cake mix. I found Banana flavored cake mix and talk about insane YUM fest! I made only minor changes but worth noting. I added a small box of instant choc pudding to the cake mix and used half & half in place of milk - I needed to use it up. I baked on well buttered pans at 350 for exactly 11 minutes. Let cool for 5 min before transferring to rack. DONT BAKE ON NONSTICK TEFLON COOKIE SHEETS! One of the pans I used was a non stick and the cookies baked on that sheet were flatter than those baked on a other sheets. Filling is super good with these adjustments. I used 1/2 c milk and 1/2 c half & half in place of 1c milk. I used 2c of powdered sugar in place of white sugar. I also replaced the shortening with 1/2 butter and 1/2 butter flavor shortening and added a pinch of salt. Filling is pretty shelf stable would hold up well in heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Cakes are good and very fluffy, but only 3 stars because I didn't care for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
GREAT cakes, disappointing filling. I would ABSOLUTELY make these cakes again but I will definitely look for a better filling, something less waxy and more flavorful than this shortening based one. We used to live in Maine where Whoopie Pies are a very serious thing and I never had a filling this awful. I wanted to give the recipe two stars just for the filling but the cakes were incredible and so easy. I did add a box of chocolate pudding to the cake mix and I think it helped, although it was the stickiest batter I have ever used and I bake a lot. Great recipe, don't make the filling. I'll a buttercream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was really good and a great treat! I used peanut butter filling instead of the white cream filling. That being said......it was great as a sweet treat, but, if you are looking for a traditional whoopie pie this is not it. The cake part is very different. This is more like the texture, taste, & consistency as an "oreo cakester" like you get in the store. Definitely was a good dessert and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I made these for a friend who loves them and he raved over them. I've since made them a few times and even made some with egg substitute and soy milk for a family who has a child with food allergies and they still come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I think it is a great idea but the filling needs some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
My rating is just for the cookies, not the filling. I was in a hurry and used a tub of vanilla frosting for the filling. These were delicious and a hit with adults and kids when I took it to a friends' cookout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I did not care for this and will never use this recipe again. Tasted very gritty and pasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I can't handle the flour part. That was all I tasted. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Swinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States