Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by marcosheller
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Just made these and they taste wonderful. Very easy to make. I made about 40 of them with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcosheller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
They turned out a little harder than I would have liked and the filling tasted more like fondant that a cream filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
The chocolate part wasn't as fudgy as I remember, and the frosting was too whipped and fluffy, for lack of a better term.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Oh my goodness!! I love this recipe and have used it several times for many different functions. They are a hit anytime I make them. Try using lemon cake mix and add fresh berries to the filling for a VERY yummy alternative to chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Goff

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Hubby grew up in central PA and the Amish made whoopie pies there, so the ones offered in the grocery stores here in KY never come close to the taste he's looking for. I made these as a surprise for him and he raved about them. I followed the directions for the cake part exactly with no modifications and they puffed up beautifully and were still nice and moist. Only problem I had/have is they do stick to whatever container you have them on. The frosting, while very rich for my taste (but these were for hubby, remember! lol) turned out rather well with a 1/2 Splenda 1/2 sugar ratio. You just have to make sure to let the flour/milk mixture cool completely before adding it into the frosting, and to beat the frosting for about 30secs shy of forever to get everything well mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vine Grove, Kentucky, USA
Photo by SarahSweets
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Wow I haven't done one of these in forever.. Ok cake good, check, filling scarily fattening but still good, check. I didn't have one small package of pudding mix (as suggested as the top reviewer which you SHOULD defiantely follow) but one huge one (the product of one penny saving mother and a coupon sale for freakishly large pudding packages) so I put half in the cake part and 1/4 in the filling since the filling just tasted bland and like plain shortening itself. Product is pretty ok uhh added actual chocolate chips in the filling maybe about 1/4 a cup, also a very important fact they don't specifise the baking time but for me it was 22 minutes but it may very for you. I first heard about whoopie pies form the world news and how the Amish would pack these in their husband's lunch pails and every time they saw one they would say Whoo-PIE, and all I can do is agree with them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I made these for a bake sale and they were a hit... I made this recipe because it didn't have any raw eggs in the filling... since I was selling them... the filling in these did tend to taste a little like shortening... but only if you really thought about it... using cake mix made it fast and easy... everyone liked them so I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Decent soft chocolate cookies. Not whoopie pie material.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I gotta say I've tried a few times on this and just never been successful. Maybe its just me but I probably won't try again. They look so yummy but my pies turned out messy and I wasn't crazy about the taste and consistency of the filling. I'm sure others have had better luck than me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Cake and filling are great! As the other reviewers have stated, tastes MUCH better after being in the fridge for a bit to 'set' :) thank you for a great recipe Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambina82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States