Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Thanks for sharing your recipe and all those who added hints~they were VERY helpful. I made a double batch of these tonight after not being able to find my from scratch recipe. These were a LOT quicker to make than my recipe and were yummy. I did add the instant pudding other reviewers had suggested and baked the cake portion for 11 minutes at 325 on top of parchment paper. Having said that, my oven runs 25 degrees hot so I adjust all bake temps down to account for my ovens overheating problem. I also made a double batch of peanut butter filling by using 2 pounds confectioners sugar, 4 egg whites, 2 tsp vanilla, 1 cup shortening, 1 cup peanut butter, 1/2 cup flour and about 1/2 cup milk. I had about a cup and a half of filling left over. I just looked at the filling again since filling and putting the pies in the freezer----looks like I should have gone with a bit more flour and 1 1/2 cup shortening and 1/2 cup peanut butter. Any way, thanks to all who took the time to add their revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
pastry is very good., but I am looking for a better frosting, which contains marshmellow fluff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
My family loved this recipe and I had fun making them. I read all the variations on the filling and settled on HOTREDONE'S. They turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Great base recipe! I took the advice of llwolf and added a box of devil's food jello pudding mix and it was wonderful! I've made this recipe several times and to change things up I used a red velvet cake mix as the shells sans the pudding mix and was just as great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This recipie is the best I've tried for Whoopie pies, especially when you add the box of Jello to make them puffy and round like llwolf suggested. However I find if you add the jello before mixing they tend to be smoother and not crack on the top while cooking. Additionally I cooked them for 16 minutes as they seemed to fall when undercooked. I really loved Mommabaileys recipie for the filling it was sweet enough and not greasy at all. It was absolutely fabulous. As a very busy working mom I liked this recipie for the ease of putting it together and how quickly I could complete them. I made them for my daughters brownie troop and they voted me mom for snacks in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Great & easy! I did add 1 box of instant pudding as some suggest and using a Pampered Chef cookie scoop got 20 whoopie pies out of the batch. I won't serve raw egg whites, so I used mommabailey's filling and it was perfect. Next time I'll whip it up longer to increase the volume, but I was in a hurry this time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Tasted good, but very flat. I used a strawberry cake mix that might have been the problem. Didn't use this filling recipe either.**REVISED** Made again using strawberry cake mix and sm pkg vanilla pudding, much better texture to the cakes with the pudding, also used the mommabailey recipe for filling, only I added twice as much powdered sugar and the entire 7oz of marsh. fluff, milk as needed to smooth it out. These were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Our family couldn't stop eating these!!! I won't make them again soon only because they won't last and we're trying to eat a wee bit healthier. Next time I need a sweet treat, it will be this delightful yummy that I will turn to. I did use some of the other tips...adding pudding mix to the cake mix to firm up the cookie. Also used another reader's stovetop-free filling mix. I might play around with various fillings that were suggested. However it is done, this is easy and wonderful. Refridgerating these makes them even better...we even froze 1/2 of the pies and they were good eaten directly from the freezer too! It made a fairly mess-free treat for my preschool aged kiddos to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Love the idea of using the cake mix.These are wonderful and so much easier to make than the "old fashion" way when I was a little girl.I DID add the pudding and only used 3/4 c.water. For the filling I used 1 c. shortening, 2 1/2 c.powder sugar(more if needed),2 tsp vanilla, 3 tbsp milk, small jar(7oz)marshmallow creme and 1/2 stick of butter.(basically mommabailey's recipe)The marshmallow helps to not have an overpowering shortening taste I make the filling first and put it in the fridge while the cookies bake.Store them in the fridge best when cold. My kids love these!! Thanks for a great idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These are absolutely fabulous! I made them for a friend's b-day and everyone loved them. Served it with the Orange-Pineapple punch from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States