Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RaeCafe
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Yummy, but the filling was not very yummy. Next time I might try to use a different flavor of cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
these cooking were a Christmas hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Hinrichs Williams

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cortland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
These were great! The only thing I could complain about, is that I don't really like chocolate cake, so I made strawberry AND chocolate whoopie pies! They were a hit with the neighbor's kids and mine, definitely will make these again! (-: :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I made these and my mom went crazy! She absolutely loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
LOVED JENDP'S frosting suggestion substitute!! It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
These were fantastic. I made mine a little to big, so it only made half the servings... but extremely enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I chose this recipe because it looked easy and it didn't use raw egg whites so I wouldn't have to worry about kids eating them. The cake part turned out okay. A little batter goes a long way! They do not puff up like the traditional whoopie pie though. The filling was terrible, it was like eating slightly sweetened crisco. I added a container of marshmellow creme and that helped a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I used the red velvet cake mix from duncan hines and the betty crocker whipped frosting instead. Family loved it and it was super easy. I used my mini cupcake pans (sprayed w/oil or pam) to create a consistent size, but you have to be careful as a small dollop can go a long way. Going to try the cookie sheet approach and see if that's easier to clean-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is great...I did add a small box of instant chocolate pudding to the mix. For the filling, I used butter flavored shortening and after it was all mixed, I added a tbsp of Baileys Irish Cream and mixed that into the filling. You can add more or less for your taste. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Very good! They were easy to make and put together. One note though is that I would let the batter sit for a few minutes after mixing. It didn't seem to spread as much after putting it on the baking sheet if you let it sit. The first couple of baking sheets I did, the little cakes turned out a little thin. But as I progressed and neared the end of the bowl, they mounded up and held their shape really well. I'm having a small issue though with the tops of my cake ripping off. Maybe the cake is too moist or I should have baked it longer, but it doesn't interfere with taste obviously. I didn't have that waxy feel in the filling like some suggested. Maybe due to the fact that once I added the milk/flour mixture to the shortening and sugar, I let it beat for about five minutes. Really mixed it well. All in all, excellent recipe and I would definitely make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa McBride Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States