Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I made these and my mom went crazy! She absolutely loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
LOVED JENDP'S frosting suggestion substitute!! It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
These were fantastic. I made mine a little to big, so it only made half the servings... but extremely enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I chose this recipe because it looked easy and it didn't use raw egg whites so I wouldn't have to worry about kids eating them. The cake part turned out okay. A little batter goes a long way! They do not puff up like the traditional whoopie pie though. The filling was terrible, it was like eating slightly sweetened crisco. I added a container of marshmellow creme and that helped a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I used the red velvet cake mix from duncan hines and the betty crocker whipped frosting instead. Family loved it and it was super easy. I used my mini cupcake pans (sprayed w/oil or pam) to create a consistent size, but you have to be careful as a small dollop can go a long way. Going to try the cookie sheet approach and see if that's easier to clean-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is great...I did add a small box of instant chocolate pudding to the mix. For the filling, I used butter flavored shortening and after it was all mixed, I added a tbsp of Baileys Irish Cream and mixed that into the filling. You can add more or less for your taste. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Very good! They were easy to make and put together. One note though is that I would let the batter sit for a few minutes after mixing. It didn't seem to spread as much after putting it on the baking sheet if you let it sit. The first couple of baking sheets I did, the little cakes turned out a little thin. But as I progressed and neared the end of the bowl, they mounded up and held their shape really well. I'm having a small issue though with the tops of my cake ripping off. Maybe the cake is too moist or I should have baked it longer, but it doesn't interfere with taste obviously. I didn't have that waxy feel in the filling like some suggested. Maybe due to the fact that once I added the milk/flour mixture to the shortening and sugar, I let it beat for about five minutes. Really mixed it well. All in all, excellent recipe and I would definitely make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I was so thrilled when I came across such a simple recipe with a decent rating. However, in the middle of just making the cakes I knew I was in for disaster. In the oven the cakes thinned out and spread together. So I had to use a cup to "cookie cut" them. Then, it took 3 different batches of the filling before I just gave up. I ended up whipping home made whipped cream. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Still like the old fashioned whoopie pies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I made these after reading some of the suggestions. I omitted the flour and used a small box of chocolate pudding instead, and used the 3/4 cup of water as specified. Then I filled them with the marshmallow fluff filling someone suggested. I didn't have enough filling so next I will double the filling. They were AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msspalmeri
Living In: Ladera Ranch, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States