Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I love whoopie pies. I buy them all the time at market. So when I came across this one using a cake mix I thought, how easy is this. First thing I did was read all the reviews. I do this before I make anything. I noticed MANDY added more flour, SHANN said hers were flat and TOOSWEETPEAS wants hers nice and poofy. My suggestions: follow the directions on the box, keep the water at 3/4 cup. Blend all ingredients together. Beat one minute on medium speed, stop mixer and add a SMALL BOX OF JELLO INSTANT PUDDING MIX. Beat another minute. Your batter will be thick, not runny. Drop batter using a cookie scooper. Bake around 14 minutes or when toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Your cakes will be perfectly round and NOT flat. I fill my pies using a peanut butter filling. To make the filling you DO NOT have to cook the flour and milk over the stove. What I do is I mix ALL the ingredients together except the shortening. I add this last and I use Criso butter flavor shortening. You keep adding crisco until the filling is nice and fluffy. You can substitute peanut butter in place of the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
364 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I've tried this recipe a number of times. I have found that adding 2-4 tbsp of flour helps to keep it from sticking. I've also found that letting the batter sit for a little bit helps give it more of a shape. And the filling recipe I use is 1/2 c. shortening, 1 1/4 c. confectioner's sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 or 2 tbsp milk, 3/4 c. marshmallow fluff. Add more fluff to make it thicker. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brook, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
This recipe was much easier and moister using the cake mix!! I used a different recipe for the icing though...2 egg whites, 1C shortening, 1 lb box of confectioners sugar, 1 tea Vanilla, 4 tbs flour and 4 tbs milk...just whip it up and it's ready to go. Everyone loved these....especially when refrigerated!!!! GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Are you kidding? With the same amount of work, one could produce a better tasting and authentic product from scratch. These are not whoopie pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
YUM! I doubled the recipe... added 2 boxes of devils food Jell-O pudding powder and used whole milk instead of the water. I also used a previous reviewers filling recipe which is MUCH better than the once in this recipe! This makes a lot of filling, so even with the doubled recipe I only make 1 batch. FILLING: 2 egg whites, 1C butter, 1 lb box of confectioners sugar, 1 tsp Vanilla, 4 tbs flour and 4 tbs whole milk. I also added 1/2 a package of mini chocolate chips. And, I agree... MUCH tastier the next day after a night in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Yum, these were great. I added a box of choc. pudding mix to the cake batter, after reading some of the reviews. Baked on parchment used a pampered chef cookie scoop, got 18 whoopie pies.Mine took 11 min. to bake. Have made filling lots of times for various desserts. Make as stated and let chill, its perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Made these for my son's birthday treat at school and they loved them! I doubled the recipe and I had a problem with my cakes being nice and poofy. They were flatter and more like the consistency of Little Debbie oatmeal cream pies. Does anyone know how I can fix this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I used a Strawberry cake mix, added vanilla instant pudding and 3 tbsp. of flour, and a teaspoon of strawberry extract, and they were the most awesome strawberry whoopie pies ever!!! I used my own buttercream for the filling. They were awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetcakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2000
The recipe was good, however I was a little disappointed in the filling. It was very waxy because of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Used the cream recipe from here and the southern moon pies cookie from this website. it turned out pretty good. Had problems getting the texture right though. It just wasnt smooth. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States