Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2000
The recipe was good, however I was a little disappointed in the filling. It was very waxy because of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2000
The cake part comes out great using the cake mix...much easier to prepare. There is almost too much frosting produced. You might want to modify the frosting part by using ingredients in a recipe that uses Marshmallow fluff. Overall, I like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
The icing was really sweet, but I really enjoyed the oatmeal part! Thanks for the recipe! I will definatly make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
This recipe was much easier and moister using the cake mix!! I used a different recipe for the icing though...2 egg whites, 1C shortening, 1 lb box of confectioners sugar, 1 tea Vanilla, 4 tbs flour and 4 tbs milk...just whip it up and it's ready to go. Everyone loved these....especially when refrigerated!!!! GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
Very delicious and easy to make! The first batch I made came out very large & thin, so next time I'll try using less batter to keep them smaller. The filling is very fluffy, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
Yum! Now these are whoopie pies as I remember. The cake mix was very easy to use and the "pies" were cakey rather than like hard cookies as I've found with other recipes. We really enjoyed the icing as well, since there are no raw eggs in it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
I was afraid the dough was too thin so I added about 3/4 cup flour to the cake dough. They turned out great. I will be brave next time and not add the flour and see how it does. I used another filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
Great recipe, did add some flour to the cake mix though. Also, would recommend the filling recipe in JENDP's review, it makes them taste just like the Whoopie Pies at my local Amish bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Time consuming but worth it. Big hit with everyone at a recent get together. Kids absolutely love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blonde Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
It took me a couple tries to get the cake part the right size. I used slightly less than a tablespoon of batter to make about a 3 inch cake. One other reviewer suggested less filling, though I will definitely make 1 1/2 batches of filling next time. I also used half butter in the filling. The neighborhood kids and adults loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monson, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States