Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Instead of candy canes on top you can get a plate of colored sprinkles and roll the pies in the sprinkles! I LOVE THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleBakingPrincess1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
These were delicious and easy! The only change I made was to add powdered sugar to the filling...it didn't taste sweet enough. Otherwise, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
My cakes were flat-not as flat as the other whoopie pie recipe I tried-but still NOTHING like the photos or what I think of as a whoopie pie. However, they taste was LIGHTYEARS better than the other recipe. I did not use this filling-I wanted a marshmallow filling so I mixed marshmallow fluff with cool whip and some cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Bigford

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Icing was a little soft but overall it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This recipe did not work at all. I did use a chocolate fudge box cake, but that should not have made any difference. Pretty bummed, needed them for a party :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I made the cakes exactly as describe. i used 1/8 of a cup. and it made the cakes about 2 1/2 to 3 inches. I didnt make the frosing. i used cool whip to make them light tasting. no need to alter the recipe at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakemeajamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Hadley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I used butter rather than shortening in the filling. I also took the advice of others and used the pudding in the cake batter. I think the taste may have been better without the pudding. But, the texture is good. Mine made 20 pies using the medium size scooper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MEMONS
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I've never had whoopie pies before and made some adjustments as others have indicated. I added a small package of vanilla instant pudding (was all I had on hand) to the mix. I also altered the filling by using 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup shortening and used 2 cups powdered sugar instead of the 1 cup of white sugar. I used 2tsp of vanilla extract. I used 3/4 cup of milk and 1/4 cup of whipping cream to give it a more thickness. I also strained the milk/flour mixture as I had small bits of flour in my mix. Overall, they were OK. I'd probably cut the powdered sugar down to 1 1/2 cups next time as it was a bit too sweet (my fault for altering it though). I also decided to just cut my cakes in half and make sandwhiches that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Made these for a bake sale at work and they were all gone! Had several people come back and ask to order more! Followed the suggestion to add the pudding to the cake mix and it worked like a charm. Used another suggestion and made a peanut butter filling instead of the one here and it was delish! Simple & easy to make. Going to make them again in a few weeks for my 6 year old's Bday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jerzeeegirll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States