Whoopie Pies VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
The best whoopie pie recipe! The filling is perfect and easierand tastier than the cooked version I was used to. We wrap filled "pies" individually in plastic wrap and freeze. Some of my family like them best frozen. Note: these are referred to as "Gobs" in some parts of Pennsylvania.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaneville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
They taste just as I remember them! The filling was very smooth and light. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Delicious! They were even better the second day after refridgerating over night. Also, the batter spreads a lot so you don't need to use much for one pie. These taste similar to Oreo Cakesters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jem12881

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BARRYANDKAREN
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Great recipe! These taste just like the whoopie pies I remember from my childhood. I wasn't sure about the icing at first, but it tasted great after chilling the filled pies in the fridge. This is the recipe I've been searching for, and will definately be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARRYANDKAREN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This recipe is GREAT! They taste just like the ones in the expensive fancy bakery near my office. My coworker said he couldn't tell the difference. Delicious and very simple to bake and store. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This recipe is excellent. I've tried a lot of whoopie pie recipes and this is the best one I have found. I will be using it from now on. The cookie part took 8 minutes to cook just as the recipe stated. The filling came out perfect, not runny like a lot I have tried. Five stars all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
the cake part was very moist. I dropped the temp. down to 350 degrees for 10-12 min. the tops did not crack as much as at 400. very highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
OMG these were so good! This was the first whoopie pie recipe I have tried and I can say a won't be looking for another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
SO GOOD! I can't finish a whole one, they are really sweet, but I wouldn't change anything about them, just eat them in halves! I think this is my favorite dessert, by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenleaf, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This recipe is wonderful! Whoopie pies are my husband's favorite, so I make them often. Have had trouble before with flat, sticky cakes. Not so with this recipe. This is the best one I've tried, and I'll make it again. One suggestion - if you are going to freeze leftovers, freeze them for 1-2 hours unwrapped first, then wrap them in wax paper and/or baggies after this time. This will allow the creme to keep its shape and not squeeze out the sides when being wrapped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States