Whoopie Pies VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marly
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Absolutely incredible -- for the Canadians out there, they taste very similar to Jos. Louis packaged snack cakes. This is the whoopie pie I've been searching for -- moist cakes with the perfect creamy center. If you don't have sour milk on hand, just add 1 tsp. vinegar to 1 c. milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This recipe is excellent. I've tried a lot of whoopie pie recipes and this is the best one I have found. I will be using it from now on. The cookie part took 8 minutes to cook just as the recipe stated. The filling came out perfect, not runny like a lot I have tried. Five stars all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snow likes to cook
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
These are very good, easy to make however the frosting filling tasted too much like confectionary sugar. Maybe it a little cream cheese was put in the mix it would be better. I made them way tooo big. These are very sweet. Next time I will make them the size of an oreo not the size of my hand. My 7 year old son had one and finished about 3/4 of one and started to feel sick from it being so sweet. It made about 16 large pies which I froze 8 of. I ran out of syranwrap so I put 4 pies in a dish, placed wax paper over them and put 4 more on top put the lid on the dish and froze them. I'm looking forward to trying them frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZAKIAH
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I've never made whoopie pies before so i have nothing to compare it to. But judging from other people's reviews and Mr.Wiki I pretty much managed to figure what these would turn out like. They were good, I did lessen the sugar to 3/4 cup (I half the original amount)because some said it was really sweet. I also added cinnamon and all spice for extra umph (I was a bit sick of the plain chocolate taste). The consistency was thick enough to be piped, so that you'll get a more even shape ( I figured that out half way baking 'em - duhh!) Didn't make the filling, used peanut butter buttercream instead and they became super-super good! Will make them again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAKIAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gombak, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: Okayama, Okayama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
The buttermilk was bad, so I used heavy cream instead. (No vinegar.) My husband kept eating the batter! He liked it. :) I had marshmallow creme on hand, so I used it instead of the cream recipe. I cut the recipe down to 12. 3 of them were eaten right away, and the others I wrapped up and put in the freezer. I'd make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
The best whoopie pie recipe! The filling is perfect and easierand tastier than the cooked version I was used to. We wrap filled "pies" individually in plastic wrap and freeze. Some of my family like them best frozen. Note: these are referred to as "Gobs" in some parts of Pennsylvania.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaneville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
They taste just as I remember them! The filling was very smooth and light. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BARRYANDKAREN
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Great recipe! These taste just like the whoopie pies I remember from my childhood. I wasn't sure about the icing at first, but it tasted great after chilling the filled pies in the fridge. This is the recipe I've been searching for, and will definately be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARRYANDKAREN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This recipe is GREAT! They taste just like the ones in the expensive fancy bakery near my office. My coworker said he couldn't tell the difference. Delicious and very simple to bake and store. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Delicious! They were even better the second day after refridgerating over night. Also, the batter spreads a lot so you don't need to use much for one pie. These taste similar to Oreo Cakesters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jem12881

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States