Whoopie Pies VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I am from Maine we know Whoopie Pies up here,and these were the best! My first batch were a little thin so I added a teaspoon of baking powder to the cookie part to help them rise a little better and they came out perfect! I also added a half cup of granulated sugar to the frosting to improve the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jillcasey84
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This review is for the CAKE part only, because I opted for a different peanut butter filling instead. These little cakes were wonderful!! I baked mine for 8 minutes exactly, as the recipe stated, and I found it to be the perfect amount of time. To make my cakes more uniform in shape, I transferred the batter to a big freezer storage bag, cut off the tip, and piped out perfect little circles on my baking sheet. Next time, I would definitely like to try the filling that the recipe calls for. YUM YUM YUM!! :~)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillcasey84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burrillville, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Yup, yup, yup--this is it. I'm from whoopie pie country (Maine) and grew up eating them and I can tell you that this is an excellent recipe. The cookies are delicious and the filling is light, fluffy, and not too sweet just like it should be. These are so good that I'm pretty sure they might be against my religion....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Everyone at our Superbowl party LOVED these. I brought the leftovers to work and they were gone in seconds!! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkathleenm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Hm..overall I rate this a 2..for a several reasons. Quite a few came out flat. They also just have so much shortening that I felt almost guilty feeding them to my friends. :( I would say the flavor of the actual cookie was lacking and the filling..just okay. Overall though, my co-workers said they liked them! I just didn't care for them as much...Probably wouldn't make these again unless I tried a variation..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Thanks for the recipe. My only tips are: --make sure you sift through the cocoa powder and flour to ensure no lumps. --bake theses gems until they are visibly dry and firm to the touch. I used parchment paper--they move to the wire racks more easily for cooling. I also added a bit of red food coloring and raspberry extract to the filling. Their getting rave reviews at my office's chocolate fest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This cookie is excellent. I didn't use the filling recipe to cut back on the fat content. I made a simple fluffy frosting with 1 egg white, 1/4 tsp. cream of tartar, 1/4 tsp. salt, 1/4 cup water, 3/4 TBS. light corn syrup and 3/4 tsp. vanilla. Cook the sugar, Cr. of tartar, salt, water and corn syrup in a saucepan over medium heat till the sugar is completely dissolved, forming a syrup. Beat the egg white with a wire whip attachment of a mixer till whites begin to hold shape. Continuing at high speed of the mixer slowly pour hot syrup in a fine stream and whip for 1 to 1 1/2 minutes. Add vanilla and whip about 5 minutes more, or until frosting loses its gloss and stands in stiff peaks. This is more than enough to fill all the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cohoes, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is sooo yummy I am not sure why others went flat but I think it is because they did not cook them long enough as I added one minute to my cook time and mine are high and puffy. The first time I made them I followed the receipe as written only omitting the raw egg whites as there is no reason to add them to the frosting. The second time I added about 1/4 cup more cocoa to the cookie. I also added 1/2 a tablespoon more of vanilla to the frosting and made it with 1 cup of butter and only 1/2 cup of shortening. They do taste better after they have set in the fridge or freezer for a day. Thanks for the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katheleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I never ate a whoopie pie in my whole life and I am 59, can you believe it! I decided to try them to see what I have been missing. I measured out 1 tablespoon plus one teaspoon of batter for each pie half and this made a very nice size, about 2 1/2 inches in diameter. I baked them for 8 minutes exactly on the middle rack in my oven and they were perfect. These were very good but I was hoping for a little more chocolate flavor. I haven't let them sit until tomorrow in the refrigerator yet though. I made scratch cream cheese frosting for the filling and that is delicious in them. I was generous with the filling putting in 2 tablespoons of filling for each completed pie. All in all, I'm glad I made them and I am enjoying them very much. I am sharing them with some friends tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is the recipe I grew up eating. For those who complain they are too sweet, that's what Whoopie Pies ARE! For the one that added cinnamon-- they're not Mexican Pies. And the peanut butter as a filling? Not a Whoopie Pie. This recipe is perfect just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States