Whoopie Pies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I thought these turned out great! I liked this recipe because it didn't use shortening or butter in the cookie part. I used my own filling recipe: 1/3 C butter, softened, 3 C powdered sugar, 1 t vanilla, 1-2 T milk. Cream butter and sugar. Add vanilla and enough milk to reach desired consistency. I also tinted the filling orange and will use these for a fall themed bridal shower. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
these were great, but everyone thought the cookie should have more chocolate flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahS
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
These were great! After reading through the reviews, I planned on serving these right from the freezer so I actually mixed a little bit of cool whip into the filling (helps thicken it up a bit too). I also substituted just a little of butter for the shortening. The cookies were great, I didn't think they were lacking in flavor at all.. but even if they were that filling wouldve made up for it, it came out soo rich and creamy. I'll be making this again for sure. By the way, I didnt want to make too many whoopie pies, so I had some leftover cookie batter as well as the filling.. so I made mini cupcakes! they turned out great, I baked them for about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahS
Living In: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Awful. The cookies had almost no flavor, and if you do not let the batter sit and "thicken" before baking, the cookies spread out while baking and become huge and paper-thin. The filling was too greasy, and called for too much vanilla. My kids definitely did not like this recipe, and I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
this wasn't very sweet or chocolaty. will not make again. good texture though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
While I did expect the filling to have more 'body' to it, these cookies were very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Schilling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
The cookies aren't very chocolatey or sweet but they have a great cake-like texture. I also liked the icing for the middle because it wasn't too too sweet like other recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
These are so tasty. Makes you feel like a kid. I especially like this recipe because it doesn not use raw egg whites in the cream filling like so many other whoopie pie recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
Although this recipe is easy to make, it lacked chocolate flavor. I've made whoopie pies before and these aren't very tasty. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
This is a good recipe, similar to the one Martha Stewart used on her show. My advice is to make sure the milk/flour mixture is completely cooled before adding to the rest of the filling recipe. I always get lumps in my filling from the flour and I am not sure how to fix that, but this is yummie anyway and I think I am the only one that recognizes the lumps! Everyone at worked loved them! Plus, my husband who usually doesn't like treats like these had two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States