Whoopie Pies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I don't know if there was too much flour or what, but I wasn't into these at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Swinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This filling is great, if you want it a bit sweeter, add a few tablespoons of Marshmellow Fluff, and maybe a bit more sugar and vanilla. The key is to beat it for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriCayer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I really like the cookie part of these, they were so yummy and soft, but the icing i thought was a little blah.... but it sorta worked with the cookie. Next time i think i'm going to add some more sugar to the icing. But over all i really like these, my husband really enjoyed them, thanks for the wonderfull recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Hildebrand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
We made these for family night and they were a hit! even the cookie by itself is delicious. It's a great recipe when you are tired of the the same old cookies. The 20 min beating of the filling was a little brutal..but totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSCHALK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
super easy to make. It hit the spot for that sweet tooth! The cake was moist and a little crunchy around the edges and the filling was delicate!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I live in Maine where we take our Whoopie Pies seriously. This recipe is not so much a whoopie pie as a tasty chocolate cookie sandwich. I took the advice of one of the reviews and used butter flavored shortening- my boyfriend loved the buttery flavor of the filling but personally I found it tasted odd with chocolate. Next time I will use regular shortening. The consistency and taste of the filling was otherwise wonderful and will use it again if I can find a better recipe for the cookie. I followed the cake/cookie part of the recipe exactly and the cookies were not nearly fluffy enough. They flatten considerably and even with only 10 minutes in the oven come out crispy along the edges because they're so thin. As a chocolate cookie it's tasty but a whoopie pie should be more cake-like. Again, not a bad recipe but definately not a whoopie pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GreenMachine
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
These whoopie pies are great! If you like "traditional" whoopie pies, this is the recipe for you. The filling is not a sweet buttercream or marshmallow, but fluffy and just the right sweetness. A few tips based on others' reviews: I do not recommend refrigerating the batter before baking, nor does it require time to sit. This makes the 'cookies' come out more dry. If your batter spreads thin while baking, it is not due to the recipe. One element that is key is the cocoa powder. When measuring this, make sure to pack it down (or at least sift it). This will ensure a very chocolatey flavor and keep your batter from coming out too thin. On a similar note, the filling should not come out thin if prepared correctly. I made this on a very hot and humid day and the filling didn't come out runny. Be sure to beat using a mixer (I even used a hand mixer) for the full 20 minutes. Have faith, the filling will come together! And do give this filling a shot. I'm generally opposed to using shortening, but sometimes it's worth it. This filling was really great and worth a try. Finally, these desserts taste great warm, cool from the fridge, and frozen. But be sure to note that the texture of the 'cookie' changes entirely when put in the fridge or freezer (drier and even drier, respectively). Overall, a great recipe for when you want something *special* that reminds you of your childhood. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GreenMachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I used the exact ingredients and followed the recipoe as stated however, these were not good at all. The cookie part itself tasted of bitter chocolate and was a little salty. THe cookies also did not spread very much. The filling was very oily looking, the ingredients did not combine well at all. If I was going to make this again I would use a chewy chocolate cookie recipe and a filling that calls for cornstarch and water as a thickening agent added to light cornsyrup, powdered sugar, and vanilla. I will not be making this recipe again. Even my 3 year old whohas never meet anything with sugar she did not like, said mom what is this? No thank you I don't want it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I made these last night and my man just loves them! He said I was free to make them again as often as I feel the need to. The cakes were perfect, just like the ones my mother used to make but the filling was very different. We can't find her (my mom's) recipe and my sister and I have yet to duplicate her filling, but these still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Farmington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
These tasted great. Definitely double the filling though... I was only able to fill half the batch. I also added extra flour to the cookie batter because it seemed too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States