Whoopie Pies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Incredible! Very rich, so make sure you don't make the cookies too large. I have made this recipe a number of times, and have always had success. One thing, however, is that the 2nd listing of "1 cup milk" is unneccessary, as the directions only specify using 1 cup of milk total, and that's in the filling (it would be too runny if both cups of milk were used).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Grange, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Very good recipe - especially since we have a raw egg allergy and many of the other recipes call for egg whites in the filling. I've made the recipe twice now and I've used unsalted butter in place of shortening and have not had any issues with the frosting or cake. Also, the cake part rises much more if you let the batter sit a few minutes on the baking sheet before setting it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
These are amazing! I only used the cake part of the recipe, but I am sure it was as good. I made a half recipe, but I am finding out that I will need to make more soon! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This recipe is not for beginners -- my aunt gave me this recipe when I was a young mom, and I couldn't get them to turn out right -- I really thought she had left things out! She was famous for her whoopie pies. If you are having trouble with it, here is how I do it, and mine come out great. Use a good hand mixer to beat everything. Sift your dry ingredients, beat the sugar, shortening and eggs thoroughly, and add in the dry ingredients and boiling water alternately in at least four batches, beating thoroughly after each addition - this means beating at least two minutes with a mixer nine or ten separate times. If this isn't done, the dough will be lumpy. Put it on a baking sheet in small amounts: I use a heaping teaspoon for mine. That will make a pie that is the size of an english muffin. Don't grease the sheet or the edges will be crispy. Use a metal spatula to carefully scrape them off the sheet. Scrape the sheet between batches. Take them off the sheet to cool as soon as they come out of the oven. For the filling, beating is again the key. I use a small wire whisk for beating and cooking the milk and flour. I hold the pan on its edge over the heat and beat the milk and flour the entire time I'm cooking. When finished, it's the consistency of pudding. If you go thicker, or don't beat it, your filling will be lumpy. Cool it on the stove until it's not warm enough to melt the shortening. Don't chill it in the fridge. If you make it while you're baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHNH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
num num num
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Do you know that 1 cup of milk is listed twice as an ingredient, but only mentioned once in the directions? I didn't know whether or not to put the cup of milk in both the cookies and the filling. Finally, I did add it to the cookie batter, which was way too thick. But then it was thin adn runny, like cake batter. So, after adding 1 more cup of flour, it was perfect. Made wonderfull whoopie pies,(gobs, I've always called them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
mmmmm, very tasty. i made it just the way you said and they were great. (Bad for the waistline though) ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This recipe is very close to the one handed down from my mother in law, who has now deceased. The only change is instead of granulated sugar in the icing, you should use powdered sugar so it doesn't come out grainy. This recipe has to be followed to the letter. Other reviewers that had lumps or problems probably didn't follow the amounts correctly. It is hard to add that much shortening to it... but you have to in order to make GOBS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I gave it four stars for the cake part but the creme was filled with way too much shortening. I made my own creme filling and after that they were great. I recommend the cake part for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Absolutely delicious!!!! Reminds me of home in PA... The people of Virginia have never heard of such a thing, but they will now! I just sent an entire tray to my son's classroom. It's sure to become a trend. :) YAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupshur

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States