Whoopie Pies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I used heart-shaped cupcake pan to make these for Valentine's Day. They were yummy and adorable. My son is allergic to eggs so I used Ener-G egg replacer for the cake and instead of marshmallow cream(which has egg in it)I melted small marshmallows in the microwave and voila marshmallow cream. Yummy and so cute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Great recipe, double the filling*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
ooh these came out wonderful! just remember to double the ingredients for the cream filling so you don't run out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Made these with my granddaughter... we had a great time and she loved every thing from the batter, filling to the final product!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
The cake part is OK, but the filling just doesn't taste right. None of it is bad, but this recipe did not match my memories of "authentic" whoopie pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
filling was way to thin very runny needed to add cups of conf sugar taste ok will look for better filling recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
These Whoopie Pies were very good! This was my first time making them. Very simple recipe. I did make a few adjustments to the frosting..I used 1 C of Marshmellow Fluff, 1/2 C of butter, 1 C confectioners sugar, 1 Tbsp milk, and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. It was the perfect accent to the chocolate cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
The cookie had an excellent moist texture but the flavor was lacking. It just doesn't have that rich chocolatey flavor of traditional whoopie pies. I didn't care much for the frosting but that may just be me. I am not a fan of so much shortening in my frostings. I will probably alter the cookie part of the recipe to add more flavor but I am still on the hunt for the perfect filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This seems to be a fool proof recipe. Loved it. For me, the convection oven worked better than traditional. And, using parchment paper worked MUCH better than directly on the pan which is stone. Even the first cookies that didn't come out looking all that good still tasted fabulous. Hard to screw this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Fantastic cookie. Still looking for the perfect filling.Even though I used butter and extra sugar and vanilla it's still missing that PA magic. The very best Whoopie pie I ever had was from Ashcomb's in Mechanicsberg,PA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States