Whoopie Pies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
The cake part is delicious and the creme filling is light, though I'm nervous about raw egg whites in it. I took the photo of this dish. It was a huge success at work. Most were gone within an hour. I'd make them slightly smaller than a tablespoon size. They really spread out when baked and mine all overla[ped. I had to cook for 9 mins, as 8 mins made the centers too wet. Let them sit for 5 minutes minimum on the cookie sheets or they will fold up funny on the spatula. Great recipe I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
uh... It says "Marshmallow filling"... but... there's no call for marshmallow in the recipe. am i missing it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I found recipe to be excellent! I've never ever made Whoopie Pies and geesh...why I hadn't before is beyond me. I didn't grease a baking sheet on this recipe. I used parchment paper and that might be my bonus verses the last review, who said her spread. I totally try to cut extra oils where I can, but follow the recipes to the best of a T as possible. I didn't change anything with the cookie type part at all. The frosting center, was slightly thick, so I adjusted with a little more milk to make it just a bit creamier. Not much but I wanted that slightly ooze affect. And I'd say the frosting didn't taste of marshmallow but that's okay. Because the recipe was quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This is the same recipe I have made for over 20 years.. my sons favorite, and as for the marshmellow comment... I laughed.. if you look at the ingredents in marshmellows.. its about the same, you don't have to use store marshmellow, you can make marshmellow, I make marshmellow all the time. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
These are absolutely delicious! The cakes made up better than I was expecting, they were pretty well perfect. It was unclear how large the drops needed to be on the cookie sheet and how far apart they needed to be, I did about a tablespoon-size and a couple inches apart, which worked out perfect. I had my oven at 340 Fahrenheit convect, and they were done in about 9 minutes. I let them cool on the cookie sheet about 5 minutes, and transferred to cookie rack. The filling however, did not work for me at all! I didn't have enough shortening, so I substituted butter instead, and the filling emulsified and melted butter got everywhere. But, it was still extremely delicious. The recipe made a whopping 32 whoopie pies, way more than I was expecting! Next time I will probably either make just a meringue for the filling, or whipped cream. But, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckylmt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paola, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I had my kid's cooking class prepare this recipe. The cake texture is great but needs more chocolate flavor, so next time I'll add 1 oz. melted unsweetened chocolate. For the filling, we skipped the egg whites and added 4 oz. cream cheese. Also substituted half of the filling's shortening with butter. It would've been helpful to know how big a "large spoonful" of batter was; We used a 1/2 oz. cookie scoop and got 17 Whoopie pies (34 cookies).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I love the "cakes" on this recipe...never fond of shorting fillings, even though that is traditional...I used a fluff recipe. I hate to see raters substitute ingred. and then rate it poorly..baking is a science, so adjusting or substituting can really wreck a good recipe...trust me, the cake is perfect, no other recipe will be the same. Disolving the baking soda in water then adding it makes all the difference. And again fillings are always subject to preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This is the exact recipie that my mother from always used, but I problem in this recipie it calls for baking powder in the list of ingredients, but fails to put it in the instructions soooo if the cakes come out flat you didn't put in the baking powder!!!! Other than that perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
These little cakes are really good. They are very cakes, have a lot of chocolate flavor and are the perfect texture for whoopie pies. This recipe does make a lot, but that was fine for me. I used a small ice cream-like scoop, probably a tablespoon size and they were the perfect size for my needs. I baked them for 9 minutes and that was perfect, soft and cakey. I took them to a Super Bowl party this past weekend and they were a hit. I did not fill them with the filling from this recipe, instead used a filling from the Martha Stewart website, it was more marshmallow-like, which I liked. I will try the filling from this recipe next time because I had to make two batches of the other filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
We have never made whoopie pies before and these are amazing! They are perfect cakes. I followed the advice on here and followed the recipe exactly (which does NOT call for baking powder). We did use the Martha Stewart filling as someone here suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoodiemama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States