Whoopie Pies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RussellC
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Warning...Only those with an Olympic class sweet tooth need attempt! They're good, but as per the recipe they are very sweet. The cookie is very good, light with a nice chocolate taste. The vanilla filling is not very stiff so don't use too much because it will just squeeze out the side when you bite into them. I also made some with peanut butter filling (half PB and half confectioner sugar). I couldn't eat more than two. I guess I could eat three if you dared me...four if you questioned my manhood...but I'd rather stop at two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I loved this recipe, I didnt change a thing. If the other reviwers husband didnt like this recipe to bad! Thats just his personal taste. There are alot of flavors I dont like but still may be in a good recipe. Dont let that stop you from trying this, its very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MarlafromMaine
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I dont know what the other reviewer was talking about but these are GREAT!!!The cookies were moist and chocolatey and the frosting is delsih.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Classic whoopie pie! The only thing I changed was omitting the egg whites from the filling and adding about 2 Tb. of milk and an extra 1/4 cup of powdered sugar. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SuperUberGoober :)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
these are awesome!! the local bakery makes these all the time, and i just loved them, so when i tried these i was hoping they would be as good as the ones at the bakery and they are waaaay better!! i love the cake part it is so soft and fluffy. i live in high altitude so to get mine ti rise correctly i used 1 teaspoon baking powder, and 1/4 teaspoon baking soda. they rose and didn't fall. they were just right. the frosting is creamy and light, although i made a few small changes. i made a lil extra frosting by just using a whole cup of shortning, and added more sugar. and after i mixed those together i added some heavy whipping cream, and it turned out so light and creamy i will make these changes in the future too. i highly recomend this recipe!! you will love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperUberGoober :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was an AMAZING recipe! I didn't change a thing. They were all gone in two days. I can't wait to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
mmmmmm... Whoopie pies... This recipe was great - the cakes were PERFECT and the icing was really good too. I used one whole egg in the cake & no egg in the icing. So to make up for no egg whites, I added a little milk, which turned out to be too much so I added a little more sugar + some flour. The flour softened the very-sugary taste & I'll probably add flour next time as well. Such a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRIGREM

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I made these for Christmas and my husband did not like the taste of the cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I have a different recipe for the "cookie" put needed a better filling. This one was delicious and soooo easy to make. I think I'll take the other reveiwers advice next time and use whipping cream next time instead of the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Substitution Suggestion! If you want to omit the raw egg whites, you can use a meringue powder as a substitute. (Wilton's) can be found in the baking section of many stores. Another option you could try is substituting the egg white with marshmallow creme. I just made these tonight and the "cakies" aren't really good by themselves, BUT when you put the filling in and put them together they are pretty delectable. I used a decorating tip and a pastry bag and it makes the sideview really pretty and added a little pro look. They are really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States