Whoopie Pies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
The whoopie pies themselves were more of a cookie texture, not exactly what we consider a whoopie pie in PA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Excellent! The cakes are very moist. I tinted the filling orange for Halloween. I wrapped each one in plastic wrap. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RussellC
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Warning...Only those with an Olympic class sweet tooth need attempt! They're good, but as per the recipe they are very sweet. The cookie is very good, light with a nice chocolate taste. The vanilla filling is not very stiff so don't use too much because it will just squeeze out the side when you bite into them. I also made some with peanut butter filling (half PB and half confectioner sugar). I couldn't eat more than two. I guess I could eat three if you dared me...four if you questioned my manhood...but I'd rather stop at two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I made these for my son's birthday. My only issue with the recipe is the frosting. I made a sweeter-tasting cream cheese frosting, diced up about a cup of chocolate morsels so the pieces were smaller (and there was some chocolate 'dust' to add more flavor) and added it to the frosting. The results are amazing and the kids went nuts over them. The cream cheese frosting does make the whoopie pie very rich, but I really wanted to avoid a shortening based frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
i've not made this recipe, however i am a huge fan of the all mighty whoopie pie. I just wanted to comment on the filling issues. Try using meringue powder to stiffen the frosting filling instead of flour and milk. this will give you a nicer flavor, all while stiffening the consistency. hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wareham, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Classic whoopie pie! The only thing I changed was omitting the egg whites from the filling and adding about 2 Tb. of milk and an extra 1/4 cup of powdered sugar. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
THAKKS FOR THE GREAT RECIPIE. IT DESERVES A LOT MORE THAN FIVE STARS HERE. THEY ARE IN GREAT DEMAND IN OUR FAMILY CIRCLE. WE REALY ENJOY MAKING AND SHARING THEM. MARY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Thanks for the perfect whoopie pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegatarian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I made just the cake part of this recipe since I have a filling recipe that I absolutely love. These came out perfect!! The only thing that I did differently was to add 1 box of chocolate pudding mix to my batter. I have tried many other whoopie pie recipes and this one is by far the best that I have made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was awesome. It made about 16 LARGE whoopie pies. I have 2 teenagers. The whole thing lasted 4 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States