Whoopie Pies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I grew up in PA Dutch territory, and these pies are awesome! I agree that if you allow them to sit overnight, they taste only improves. I do recommend a Peanut Butter Icing recipe found on this web site. Thanks for these Whoopie Pies which take me back to my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Icing was not the best, but the cookie part was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a2africa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I didn't change a thing. My whole family really enjoyed them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
love the filling recipe. its absolutely decadent. i used a box cake mix for the cookies, use 3/4 c. water instead of what box calls for. excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was an AMAZING recipe! I didn't change a thing. They were all gone in two days. I can't wait to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
After some of the negative comments I read, I almost didn't make this recipe. So happy I did. I followed previous suggestions and doubled the cocoa. These cake-like cookies are really good! I didn't like the frosting, though. I tried a butter-cream recipe instead. I think next time I'll use ice cream for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Very frustrating, I have made two batches and they have both come out flat as pancakes. I am a pretty good baker and followed the direstions to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: South Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Liberty, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Loved it! Recipe worked wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
The cookies turned out very good. Moist and firm at the same time. Pipping them was a perfect idea. But I'm very disappointed with the icing. It takes ok. But it's much too squishy - you can't fill 2 cookies, cause it oozes out the moment you pick them up. I put the finished pies in the fridge to see if the icing firms up some. It's also got a yellow tinge b/c of the shortening. I whipped it longer in the stand mixer and that took some of the yellow color out. But it's still not the white creamy filling I knew when I was younger in PA. I'm still looking for the filling that won't squeeze 100% out when you take a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
These were good. I have to say, I had one right when I was done making them, then I had one the next morning, and they were a lot better after they had sit in the refrigerator overnight! The cookies were very moist and the filling was delicious! Next time I think I will add cream cheese to the filling and maybe chocolate chips or M&M's to the cookies for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States