Whoopie Pies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
These are good, very sweet, and very good. The only thing I will do differently is double the cocoa as I didn't find them chocolatey enough...otherwise, very classic whoopie pie and no marshmallow fluff!! which is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Not worth the effort. They tasted better with ice cream in the middle (but still not great). I will not make these again. Maybe you had to have grown up with these to appreciate them?!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl
Living In: Munich, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Loved the recipe! the right amount of sweetness. Made mini whoopie pies, these turned out fun & cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Very good recipe!!!! The whole family loved it! I did omit the egg in the frosting and added two tablespoons of water instead. This recipe will be the only whoopie pie recipe I will ever use! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catandjim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallowell, Maine, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
My girlfriend in Fairbanks used to make these all the time for her 8 kids, she called them yo-yos (not the kids--the whoopie pies!). I never bothered to make them until I came across this recipe while looking for a way to use up some Crisco. They were terrific! Just wish I had made them for my kids. I was tempted to eat the whole batch--and I could have--but gave them away to a friend so I wouldn't (I love to bake and share). What I like about the recipe is that you can make the pies any size you like--use a tablespoon for the batter or an 1/8th cup or a 1/4 cup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Followed the cookie recipe only and it was very dry and bland. Used a cream cheese frosting recipe from this site and only slathering that on the pie makes it edible. Will not make again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachlan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
The cookies can be somewhat spongelike cakes and maybe a little bland with flavor. With frosting, works great. I'd throw in 1 cup chocolate chips into the cookie batter and a package of cream cheese into the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fishypajamas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xiomara78
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
The only 2 things I changes was using buttermilk instead of regular milk and butter instead of shortening. They were delicious. HUm HUm Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Substitution Suggestion! If you want to omit the raw egg whites, you can use a meringue powder as a substitute. (Wilton's) can be found in the baking section of many stores. Another option you could try is substituting the egg white with marshmallow creme. I just made these tonight and the "cakies" aren't really good by themselves, BUT when you put the filling in and put them together they are pretty delectable. I used a decorating tip and a pastry bag and it makes the sideview really pretty and added a little pro look. They are really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Really great recipe!! I added 4 tbsp of marshmallow fluff though. It still did not make enough frosting, but then again I made pretty big cakes. It was very good overall :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mgymnast95

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States