Whoopie Pies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I had leftover cream cheese frosting to use up so I decided to make these. The cake part is very good. Make sure to load up the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Maybe its something I did. But I followed the recipie to a T for the cakes. When I baked them, they came out flat around the edges with a little buldge in the middle....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caitlin
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I was looking for something that was a close imitation of Oreo Cakesters when I tried this. They are definitely distinguishable from Cakesters; I think they're better! :) I doubled the recipe when I tried it and got 30 sandwiches. Make sure your baking soda and powder are not expired to avoid flat pancake cookies. For the frosting I used 1 cup shortening (because I doubled the recipe, would normally be 1/2) and 1/2 cup butter (would normally be 1/4), so it wasn't all shortening. I also added 2 heaping Tbsps of Fluff to give it a little more elasticity. I omitted the egg whites and didnt replace them with any other liquid. The frosting was not runny at all. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
excellent! just like the local amish whoppie pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENSFIXINS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
So yummy. I will definitely make these again. Based on other comments I added a couple of extra tablespoons of cocoa powder to the cake and a couple of extra drops of milk to make sure it wasn't too dry with the added cocoa. For the filling I did 1/2 shortening and 1/4 butter (my mom's suggestion) and it was heavenly. I mixed the filling on medium speed on my kitchen aid mixer for a good 10 minutes to get it nice and fluffy and chilled it for 30 mins before assembling the cookies. Finally, I took another suggestion and piped half the cookies and "dropped" the other half. The piped ones were much more "puffy" and better shaped than the "dropped" ones. I would definitely recommend piping them. This will be a family favorite recipe. Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by haywardsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I thought these were the best woopie pies I've ever had -- even better than my mom's! I didn't think they were too sweet at all, at least not the cookie part. (I didn't try the frosting this time, but I will next time.) I was really in the mood for something chocolate/peanut butter so I filled them with the Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting recipe from this site, and they were awesome! The cookies are just the right texture and have just the right amount of chocolate flavor. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I only used the cake part from this recipe and the filling part from the chocolate mint whoopie recipe since the cake part of this one got great reviews but not the filling. It worked out well! I also used chocolate and funfetti frostings to fill some. Very rich though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Overall, these were pretty awesome.The cake itself is absolutely fantastic. I did have to bake them around 13 min. for them to cook through. Just to warn you, the cakes do spread quite a bit when they bake. The only problem I had was with the filling. Too much shortening in my opinion. Maybe added marshmallow (the traditional whoopie pie filling) would be better. I ended up adding a splash of milk, a bit of butter, and a tiny amount of flour to cut the sweetness. I am somewhat of a whoopie pie snob because where I live, they are very popular. I've had some pretty good pies but this recipe has the best cake portion hands down. The filling just leaves something to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
These were delicious...BUT The picture is much darker than the actual product. Next time I will use my deep dark chocolate cake recipe. Also PLEASE don't use shortening for your filling! It tastes like plastic...NOTHING tastes like butter! and it works just as well! I use these in my cafeteria and everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I don't know what I'm doing wrong, but these just come out flat every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States