Whoopie Pies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I'm only rating the filling, since that's all I used. I followed the directions exactly. I let it all whip together for about five minutes - runny. I turned up the speed on my Kitchenaid for another five minutes - runny. I ended up adding 4 ounces of cream cheese and beating further - STILL runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Used only butter as I didn't have any shortening. They turned out great! I beat the batter until it was nice and light brown. I whipped the butter until light, added a tablespoon of flour (as suggested by another) and then added the sugar and salt. I beat until very fluffy and added 3-4 tbsp of cream until it was light and fluffy. The frosting wasn't too sweet with the flour added. I tried a recipe from this site that first cooked the flour with milk before beating with sugar. It wasn't nearly as good as these! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephoney
Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I love the filling it's fluffy and mashmallow like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I think these were really good. i would like them to be a darker chocolate though. I made my filling, but had used all the vanilla in cookies, so I added almond extract to the filling. It was delicious! These were actually pretty easy and looked like a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Osceola, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cameron, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Delicious! Followed the recipe as stated except did not use egg white in frosting threw in some marshmallow fluff instead. Made 8 medium to large whoopie pies. Very Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barre, Vermont, USA
Living In: North Walpole, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
We were a little disappointed in the whoopie pies. The cake part was delectable, light and airy. Next time I will add one more tablespoon of cocoa powder, just because we like our chocolate sweets really chocolatey, but other than that I would not change anything for the cake... now the frosting was another issue altogether. My kids and husband did not like it at all. My son said it tasted like oil. I have never made a shortening based frosting/filling before, and I think they are just used to a cream cheese filling. I think I will go with that next time. I on the other hand, found them to be quite tasty. The filling does leave that slimy texture in your mouth when you're finished, but isnt what a good cold glass of milk is for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Very good recipe! I did add 1 tsp of extra cocoa to the cookie mix. Also instead of egg yoke in the filling I added about 1/2 c of marshmallow fluff and i splash of extra vanilla. They came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Average. My cake puffed up nicely but wanted to have more chocolate flavor and a darker color. I made minis using a tablespoon sized cookie scooper. I also used my own personal filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Not sure what went wrong-I triple checked all the ingredients. My cakes spread out super thin (like 1/4 inch thick if that) and all the cookies melted together into one big blob. And it took 30 minutes to cook all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Bigford

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States