Whole Yellow Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
a little confusing with title of "whole yellow pea soup" and then in the recipe using yellow split peas ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by europlastics

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Somerset, England, U.K.
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I did not have dried peas so I used frozen green peas. I added ham to it as I had left overs. I pureed the mixture as it was to watery for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by denisel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
April 19th, 2014 UPDATE: We make this soup about 3 or 4 times every year and it is splendid every time. We always make it following a ham dinner so we can use the ham bone. You have to try this recipe. Serve with "Angel's Yummy Bruschetta. Feb 18, 2012 Review: Wow! I love yellow pea soup from the can - never had I tried making a dried pea soup before. I've tried other cooks handy work at pea soup and couldn't finish the bowl. I had a nice ham bone and husband's encouragement - so I stayed as true to the recipe as I could. I used 2 cups of homeade chicken stock and 6 cups of water with 2 packets of Knorr chicken OXO and three table spoons of chicken bovril. All else same-same. My children age 17 and 13 finished their bowls and we all agreed to add this recipe to the regular menu. Yes, it's that good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
not good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Casselman, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This recipe is the best pea soup I have ever tasted and I have been trying so many recipes I was about to give up. I did add a couple of bay leaves as I like to put them in all my soups and I didn't soak them in water overnight . I just rinsed them and followed the recipe. It was so easy and the end result is a definate winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Here's what really good...first make this recipe, then add one big chopped onion and one can of whole kernel corn!...my French grandmother made it this way so even us kids would like it...and we do!!! P.S. I'm not a kiid...I make this for MY grandchildren now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
What a great way to use the leftover ham bone....I added barley and shedded leftover ham So hearty and delish I also used some of ham broth left from cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I found myself wanting to add to this but have shared this on a lonely night when the winds were blowing... The heart/Home feeling to it was worth it's own simplicity - We continue to enjoy the friutes of our labours...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States