Whole White Wheat and Honey Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2006
** VERY IMPORTANT NOTE ** I took a look at this recipe, and was really surprised at all the trouble people are having with it. Instead of spreading all over the place, these cookies should be rather cake-like, and they shouldn't spread much at all. I then looked at the recipe, and realized there's a typo - YOU NEED TO USE 2 1/4 CUPS OF WHITE WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR, NOT 1 CUP!! I have no idea how this typo crept in - I can't imagine that I would have submitted it that way, but who knows? Maybe I did. I'll try to get the site to fix it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Thank you thank you thank you! These cookies are beyond belief they are so good! Because of dietary restrictions related to my son's asthma we do not use dairy or sugar in our house and these cookies were an amazing start towards a dessert we can all enjoy. To make them work for us I omitted the butter and dry milk, replacing them with a combination of 2 cups of milled flax seed and a half a cup of soy milk. I also replaced the chocolate chips with unsweetened carob chips. Obviously that is A LOT of changes from a traditional cookie recipe so I was shocked when I was able to bring them to a lunch play-date and the other kids actually ate them! Thank-you, it means so much to my son to be able to share with other kids. They are already on high request at our house and I think that we will be making them to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monkton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Let me preface this review by saying that my family is switching over to an all whole foods diet - no white flour, sugar, rice, potatoes, high fructose corn syrup or hydrogenated fats. By and large, it's a fairly easy transition, but a good cookie -- that's hard to find! These have excellent flavor, and are as easy to make as regular chocolate chip cookies. The batter consistency is considerably softer than traditional choc chip batter, and has a wicked aftertaste - don't worry, it doesn't come through in the cookie! They have a different but not bad texture that is halfway between a cookie and a muffin top. We've taken to calling them muffkies. These are not going to satisfy any cravings for chewy, dense, Mrs. Fields style cookies; but they are a nice sweet treat for kiddos if you're trying to amp up the nutrition. I probably won't make these again for a while -- I'm going to try experiments with raw sugars and crystalline fructose to get a "cookier" cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Ok my kids and myself all say these are the best cookies we've ever had! I combined whole wheat flour and organic white flour to make my own whole white wheat. I used some walnuts since I was out of pecans. I used regular skim milk, not powdered. I don't keep powdered milk here. I also added some wheat germ, and some flax seed. Truly they were chewy, sweet, but not too sweet, and really hit the spot. I woke up excited each day to eat some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Good, for what they are. Cakey, not the texture of a cookie. Substitutions: I used Agave Nectar instead of honey, 100% whole wheat flour instead of whole white wheat, margarine not butter, and 1/4 c. almond milk instead of powdered milk. This way they are not dairy and lower glycemic. Def satisfies a cookie craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I need to try these again b/c my first try didn't seem to turn out right. They are tasty and cakey like some of the other reviewers have said, but something still seems off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi Bottoms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
BOMB-DIGITY! They do have a cakie texture, which we love! I used red wheat from my wondermill, since it seems to be impossible to get white around here. Very good, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkysarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
My two year old loves them, as do I. I can't resist adding a little oatmeal to chocolate chip cookies, but otherwise I followed the recipe. Like other reviewers said, the first sheet turned out a bit more like muffins than cookies. For the second sheet I added some liquid milk to the recipe and then really tried not to over-bake them (I tried to err on the side of under-baking since they bake a little bit even after they're out of the oven) and then they turned out more like cookies. I am staying away from refined sugar so I will make these again when I'm craving a good, substantial cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
These are little more cake-like than most cookies, but I was definitely surprised by how good this was. Everyone who tried it loved it, too! I changed it by using liquid milk, omitting the pecans, spreading it in a cake pan, and baking it for 12 minutes, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Excellent recipe for whole wheat flour! I subbed skim milk (liquid) and Walnuts for Pecans and added 3/4 C ground Flax Seed meal for added texture and good stuff and they came out great! My 4 year old who hates "mom's healthy cookies" loved them! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States