Whole Wheat and Nuts Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
These muffins turned out chewy. I substituted 1/4c agave syrup for sugar and reduced milk accordingly to 3/4c. And it was coconut milk. The flavor is good, slightly sweet. Kids liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
These muffins were good for being entirely fat-free. (I used skim-milk and omitted the nuts) The only complaint I have is that they were a bit chewey, which I assume is from the yogurt. But again, they were very good and next time I think I will add cinnamon, allspice and cloves to make them "spice muffins".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Really good recipe. I also made some substitutions. I used 1.5 cup wheat flour and .5 cup white flour. I also substituted the white sugar for the brown sugar, the walnuts for almonds and the nutmeg for the cinnamon. I also cooked these as mini muffins for 10 minutes which was perfect. It's a great breakfast and will be a great snack later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Love it! I used soy milk, added fresh blueberries cuz I wanted some fruit, 1/8 cup water to make it a bit fluffier, and 1.5 c wheat flour and 1/2 c white flour. I also didn't have nutmeg, so I used cinnamon. So good! Makes a little more than 12 muffins, probably more like 14 or 15. Does taste somewhat wheaty with my variation, but I like it that way on a healthier note.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
this were really good, my cousind ate them what is fascinating. I just used brown sugar and added some dried cherries. they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
The flavor of these muffins is really good, but I am personally not crazy about the consistency. If you are looking for a fluffier non-dense muffin, these may be for you. I made only a few adjustments - used brown sugar instead of white because that's what I had - used a 1/2 cup of white flour and 1 1/2 cups of wheat. Also added some cinnamon and shredded carrot, and dried cherries in place of the nuts. I would try this recipe again but maybe add some oatmeal or something to make them more dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snow Angel
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
My husband raves about these muffins! (And I do, too!) I can hardly believe how healthy they are, for how good they taste! I did add cinnamon, because it is a favorite spice in this household, but I might try without next time. I think for the texture it is important to go quickly from mixing the wet & dry, right into the oven - the leavening acts quickly, and you want them to be fluffy! I will note - I had enough batter for more than 12 muffins using a bare pan (no liners), but only one pan, so I can't tell exactly how many it could have made. Oh, one more thing (sorry so long!), I really enjoyed splitting a muffin open and putting a bit of peanut butter on it - match that with fruit for a great light meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
These are really good. I substituted craisins for the nuts but otherwise followed the recipe. They are light and fluffy and very tasty. I loved the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnolia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Good muffins. I used pecans instead of walnuts and cinnamon instead of nutmeg. They are tasty warm with a little butter :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
These muffins were ok - a little too fluffy for my taste. I added raisins and left out the nutmeg, and they tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aarhus, Midtjylland, Denmark
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States