Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I used ground flaxseed instead of wheat germ, but had trouble getting the crust to rise. I also felt it needed more honey, and it came out dry. Maybe if I would have used quick rise yeast (which is not what the recipe called for) and kneaded it. It also may have helped to use whole wheat pastry flour. As of now, I will look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Honestly, this just wasn't our cup of tea. I had never had a whole wheat pizza dough on my pizza before (to be fair) and I don't intend to again and that goes for any recipe I think it could be good for someone who has had a wheat-based pizza dough before and enjoyed it but for my family this was just too wheat-y. It was worth a try since it has to be better for us than a traditional white crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Colette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Great taste! I don't know if it was the whole wheat that was just too heavy, or if it was my yeast, but it did not "poof" up very much in the rising or baking, nor did it become crisp anywhere. Very soft crust. I think 350 is too low to bake pizza. That may have also contributed. I like to cook my pizzas on at least 400 (which I should have done this time, but wanted to follow the recipe). I also baked the crust for 5 minutes before adding sauce and toppings and finishing baking. I might revise this to 5 stars if I make it again with different yeast and have a better outcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Escape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This was ok. Maybe it's b/c I'm spoiled on eating white dough pizza. It was kind of bland tasting. I really like wheat but, for pizza - not so much. I gave it 4 stars b/c my husband loves this dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I'd give this 0 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Fantastic whole wheat dough. Best I have had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I've been using this recipe for almost a year now, every time I make it I have requests for the recipe! It's wonderful and delicious. I modified the recipe a little, by adding herbs and red pepper flakes to the dough. Also, when I have the time, I let it rise once or twice for about an hour. The honey really gives it it's characteristic flavor. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eshusker
Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I am so grateful for a WW recipe! The addition of wheat germ is great. The flavor was wonderful, but the dough was a little dense. I'll roll it out thinner next time. Doubled the recipe and froze 1/2 for later use. Added 2 additional Tbsp honey, and 2 tsp garlic powder to the dough (keep in mind the recipe was doubled!). Spread it on a baking sheet lightly sprinkled with corn meal so the dough didn't stick. I think I'll experiment next time, adding parmesan and maybe some fresh rosemary or oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I didn't have any wheat germ, so I just followed another reviewer's tip to just replace it with an additional half cup of whole wheat flour. It worked really well! One thing I must say is that if you follow the serving size of a 12" pizza it will be on the thicker-crust side, and I had to bake it for about another 10 or 15 minutes. If I had made a 14" or 16" pizza I think it would have been more accurate to the instruction's bake time. Either way, great recipe. I'll definitely make this again! Update: Made this again only I used a 24 inch pizza stone rather than the 12". Perfect! The baking time is accurate to that size and the crust was the perfect thickness. Even the anti-whole-wheat family members went back for seconds... and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This recipe was great with a couple of modifications. I used ground flax instead of the wheat germ, 2 tablespoons of honey, and 3/4 cup water. For the whole wheat flour I used 1/2 spring wheat and 1/2 hard white wheat, both of were freshly ground from whole grains. I used one teaspoon of instant yeast and let the dough ferment overnight in the refrigerator to activate the phytase enzyme in order to break down phytic acid and release the nutrients of the whole grain. A couple hours before baking, I removed the dough from the frig so it would warm up before I rolled it out. It was a little sticky. So I oiled the rolling pin to roll it out. I used this dough for calzones and it was great. Crisp on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 417) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States