Whole Wheat Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This was just what I wanted to show Irish friends the great American tradition of zucchini bread (AKA courgette bread). I also made a few minor alterations: I used all 6 cups "strong" whole wheat bread flour; I used 1 cup of Splenda instead of honey; 3/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce (made with tart Bramley apples) - instead of most of the oil (Splenda can make things drier); 3 Tbsp. of oil; 1/2 cup of milk; 1 to 1.5 tsps. of nutmeg; 2.5 to 3 tsps. baking powder; 2.5 tsps. baking soda; 1/2 cup flaxseeds; 1.5 tsps. vanilla. Everything else was as in the recipe. Made two loaves and 11 muffins. Moist & sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This recipe would be wonderful with Kamut wheat being it is a sweeter and a milder wheat that's usually what I use when I am making a sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I used half whole wheat instead of a third and it turned out really well! Might had coconut or pineapple next time too. The honey and brown sugar combo was a nice change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
this recipe is so delish! even my picky eater husband likes this! thanks! will def make it again. perfect pair for a cup of coffee during fall/winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Just hot out of the oven! Used all Whole Wheat (Common Spring) flour. Substituted as suggested the applesauce for oil. I packed the zucchini into the measuring cup like brown sugar would be packed.Zucchini is moist so I wanted to see if it would help. I use frozen grated zucchini in recipes and I don"t drain it. No extra moisture was needed fof this recipe. Tastes great! Baked it in 2 long bread pans 12x7 for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
My breads turned out moist and flavorful. I liked that there is four cups of zucchini used. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I just made this but halved it and did muffins instead. The only thing I did different was add some chocolate chips so that my kids would eat them, lol. They are DELICIOUS! I followed the recipe exactly, just adding the choc chips. Very very good and one I will use again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Nice recipe! Like other reviewers, I made a few modifications to up the health content even further: 1. used applesauce instead of oil, 2. used white whole wheat flour instead of all purpose flour. Because all of the flour was some form of whole wheat, I added about a teaspoon of vital wheat gluten and everything rose wonderfully. I also found it necessary to add milk because the mixture was too dry otherwise - added about 3/4 cup almond milk. I also added a dash of nutmeg and cloves. YUM! Made it in loaf size, 9" round cake pan, two mini-muffin trays, and one 6-count regular muffin tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Yum! Might want to check your loaves sooner so they don't overbake. Even my toddler loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyscookin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Skiva
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This was the 1st recipe I saw. Looked so good, so I tried it. Incredible. I live at 5,000' elevation, so no alterations necessary for high elevation. I liked the alternatives to using wheat & honey. I can see adding in grated apples or blueberries to this mix. My husband doesn't care for alternative foods... he's ate half the mini loaf in less than 2 minutes... I'd say this is a WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States