Whole Wheat Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
I followed recipe exactly and the dough was too dry- even after adding additional 3T of warm water. I rolled out dough as thin as I could get it and cooked one tortilla- within seconds of taking it off pan it was hard as cardboard. Don't waste your time or money on ingredients making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I'm on a sugar free, yeast free diet and these were wonderful to add to my list of things I could eat. I did add more water, and I stored the dough in the fridge and just cooked up what I needed for that meal. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
These are perfect for sandwich wraps! They are soft, filling and I love that there are so few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Very easy to make and the end result is perfect- beautiful simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
No bread in the house and a winter storm. No baking soda either. Delicious! I ran warm water slowly into the bowl while kneading dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
These are great. Pliable and tasty - perfect for sandwiches. I made half a recipe since there are only two of us at home now and it made nine 10 inch wraps. I used 1 cup bread flour and 1 cup white wheat flour. I used almost the entire cup of warm water though. The bread flour and 1/2 the wheat flour and 1/2 to 3/4 cup of water was kneaded in the stand mixer for about 4 minutes - to really develop good gluten structure. Then added the remaining ingredients and kneaded 1-2 more minutes. Add 1-2 tablespoons bread flour if needed. The dough should leave the sides of the bowl while kneading at medium speed. Rest at least 30 minutes then roll very thinly. Think pasta strips. You will be able to stretch them after rolling if needed to thin in thicker spots. Cook as above and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I just made and tasted the first one - delicious! I only mixed up enough dough to make 4 of them because I didn't want to waste ingredients if I messed them up. I made the dough in my bread machine on the dough cycle and let it rest a few hours. I added 3 TBSP extra water, a tsp of EVOO, and some honey. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Really tasty! I had to get a technique down so I ruined the first two, but they made decent tortilla chips. The ones I made successfully were great! I added a bit of extra water, and kneaded them a good while. I didn't have wax paper, so I just rolled them out on a floured surface. My arms got a good workout from rolling them as thin as possible! But it was well worth the effort. Part of me thought they'd turn out too crumbly to make a wrap without splitting the bread, but they're quite flexible! These made a great turkey wrap, and I'm hoping to have taco night at home soon to try them out for that. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Originally I wasn't going to bother commenting because I was so disappointed with the outcome BUT after letting the dough balls sit overnight, I rolled them out and tried once more. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised... They are nice and fluffy and the taste is a combination of your typical wrap and naan. I DID alter the original recipe to 3 cups ww flour and 1 cup all purpose flower... Maybe the key IS to let the dough rest longer... Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I have made these very frequently, but they never turn out right. For a while, I thought it was my fault, which is why I kept trying. But it really is the recipe. I have gotten some good wraps out of it, but it is a major chore. Some problems that I've come across: Too low or high heat produces too hard wraps, and it is hard to find medium ground. The dough is always too sticky, which means that it sticks to itself, wax paper, and me. And I've tried using varying amounts of water to fix it, and I can't. It is impossible to roll them out between wax paper. I use a rolling pin, with much difficulty because of the stickyness. As I said, I have made these several times, and sometimes it works out. But it's too inconsistent for me to ever try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Enjoy these tasty muffins for a healthy, hearty breakfast treat.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States