Whole Wheat Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2002
These turned out pretty well, but I couldn't get them soft. I think it's just my inexperience. They were great with black beans and rice, sour cream, lettuce, and shredded cheese. Yummy! UPDATE: Almost two years later, I made it again. I changed the rating from four to five stars. You HAVE to add more water, 1 Tbsp. at a time until you have a good, moist (but not wet) dough. Knead it to work the gluten. When the dough is elastic and stretchy (if it crumbles add more water!), divide and let rest. This also lets the gluten rest, so you can roll them out (I just use my counter--no waxed paper). I divided the dough into 16 balls, but used 1 1/2 balls for each wrap. As soon as you remove each cooked wrap from the skillet, place it in a plastic ziplock bag to steam and soften. While the wraps don't have a lot of flavor by themselves, they are great filled! This recipe is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
These really are great! I was pretty skeptical at first because of the simplicity of the whole recipe, but they turned out chewy and really good. They'd be great with some tuna or chicken salad inside, or sliced turkey and veggies. I ate melted cheese on one, ate several plain, and spread hummus on some. Try them, you'll like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Yummmmm! These were very good. I had to add a bit more wheat flour, otherwise these would have been too sticky. Didn't have any wax paper so I floured my board & rolling pin & rolled them out thin. If one gets stiff, let it sit while you do another. Really good with another recipe from this site for Make Ahead Lunch Wraps. Be careful that you use a SEASONED griddle, ungreased... otherwise you'll destroy your pan with the flour burning. Great recipe, low fat & healthy, why buy?? You KNOW what's in these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWifey/Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
Excellent recipe for a healthy wrap, with the help of all the reviews written! I kneaded the dough for about 20 minutes and followed the reviewers' suggestions. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This recipe worked wonderfully. I added chopped rosemary, which added a nice fragrant twist. One note: the thinner you roll these, the better they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
These are GREAT!!! My whole family loved them. We could sit around and eat them plain--they are that good. One word of caution--watch the water. The second time I made them, I didn't add quite enough. They still tasted great, but the edges got crispy, and they didn't wrap very well. Also, I just rolled them out on a counter sprinkled with flour. I thought it was easier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
These turned out very well and tasted good. Very filling if you are eating good carbs. I did let the dough rest after I worked it so give time for the gluten to react.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kennedy, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
These took a while to make (the process of rolling one out, while another was frying), but are very good. It did not take long to mix up the dough. After the first cup of water it took 1 tablespoon under a cup more of water, so just under 2 cups total. I fryed them on medium heat. I did not have a problem with them being real hard. They are not as soft as store bought, but definitely rollable. If you have about 2 free hours, I would recomend trying them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love Lilacs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Very good. My little girls loved them plain. I made a small batch of 4 just to find out if anyone would eat them and they all got eaten. I love how easy they are to make but you do have to watch them very closely once they are on the stove. Next time I am going to make tortilla chips with them by seasoning them with sea salt and slicing them into wedges and baking them on a cookie sheet after frying them. I have done that before with store bought tortillas. You can also use cinnamon and sugar instead of sea salt, they are good with fruit salsa. These might be hard to get use to if you are not used to eating whole wheat but in our family that is the only thing we eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
These were good I had to add more flour, but that was probably my fault. I think I added the water too fast. Half of this I stuffed with tuna salad, and made tuna sandwiches. The other half I added chocolate to, and added bananans, icecream, confectioner's sugar, and whipped cream to. These were very easy, and healthy. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States